monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Poison in the Pen

Back at work, I'm eating a toasted English muffin with butter and drinking a cold Diet Pepsi while I read my long list of Knitblogs. It's how I ease into my night.

I brought a skein of yarn that Kim dyed at the Stephenson County Fiber Festival about 4 yrs ago that I've been saving to make something special for her. I finally decided it would make a great pair of gloves! It's quite a mix of colors, with a little more yellowy green area than I would have chosen, but she had a lot of fun making it, and she chose the colors herself.

I'm using the basic glove pattern from the little Vogue Mittens & Gloves book. I've made gloves before, so it's not a challenge, and this is a simple pattern that I can do while I read a P.G. Wodehouse book at the Project Gutenberg website.

After school when I picked up Kim, she told me about something that's been going on at Seminary - someone is leaving poison pen letters in Jessie's cubby! (Seminary is Kim's early-morning religion class; it meets at 6 a.m. every day before school.)

Apparently there have only been two or three of the notes, but they say ugly things and of course they are very upsetting to Jessie. It's especially creepy when you know that Seminary class meets at church, so only members of our ward have access to the classroom.

Kim said that after the first one, Jessie talked to the class and asked that if the person writing to her had been hurt by her or had a problem with something she'd done, that they would talk to her about it, but no one responded to that, and then when she got this one today, her brother talked to the class about it, and showed them the latest note, while she was crying in the hall with their teacher.

Then after class, while 4 of the kids were waiting for their ride to school, one of the girls told the other kids that her mom had talked to the seminary teacher because she thinks she knows who left the notes. The girl didn't say who it was, but said that it's not a seminary student, and the writer is older, about 18 or 19.

Well, then I knew who it was. There was a boy who was writing obnoxious emails to Jessie a couple of years ago and they had to block him from access and talk to his mom about it (she's a single parent, a widow, and she's flaky as hell). So I didn't say anything to Kim but I know it's him.

So Kim told me all this, and I was crying over it because it was breaking my heart! Kim wanted to do something nice for Jessie, like give her candy and a card, so we bought candy, and a Legolas bookmark (all girls like Legolas because he's androgynous) and we could not find a cute friendly card with a chimpanzee on it anywhere in this town and we went to three stores! So she went through the greeting card collection in my desk - you have one, don't you? Because when you go to buy a funny card and there are 3 that are cracking you up, you buy them all, right? Maybe it's just me...

Anyway she found a little card (no chimp, though) and wrote a nice message on it and she plans to give it to her tomorrow.

When I got home, I called Jessie's mother, who is my good friend that I hardly ever talk to anymore because we both have jobs now, but we used to talk on the phone every day at least once, and sometimes twice when she was a stay-at-home mom and I worked the 3-11 shift, so we were both at home during the day.

So Jessie's mother told me all about it, (and she feels sure it's the same boy that I thought of) and also that there has been a little persecution of Jessie by a couple of the other girls in Seminary, which is just so sad when you consider that they all go to the same church and need to be supportive of one another, but it happened to Rachel at that age too (the hatin', not the poison pen notes), and I think it comes down to jealousy. I thought that when it was Rachel, but there were other circumstances involved too, but with Jessie, she is a gifted pianist, very cute, popular and outgoing, and that kind of person always has their detractors.

I hope that situation is cleared up soon, but I was thinking later that it would make an interesting subplot to Rachel's body-in-the-baptismal-font story. I'll have to suggest it to her!

11:48 p.m. - 2003-12-01
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter