monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Copy cat!

I was trying to think of one single thing I did today, and I finally recalled that I folded three baskets of clean laundry. That's all.

Other than fold laundry, the only thing I did was knit, but I do that every day, so it's hardly worth mentioning. I have a couple of things I'm working on at home - one is my downstairs project, the Cobblestone sweater for Scott. I'm using some lama and wool mix yarn in a camel color, that I had used for a fancy cabled sweater that didn't fit him right. I ripped that sweater out last week and started the Cobblestone. I've just gotten a few inches of the body done.

My upstairs knitting is the Cottage Creations Tunic for Carolyn. I work on that one when I'm reading or watching TV in bed. I've got just a few inches of the body done, about the same as Scott's sweater.

My purse knitting is a plain sock made with Essentials sock yarn in a dusky blue. It's going very slowly, but I work on it now and then.

I've got some emergency sock knitting at work, the sock knitted in the rosy coral Trekking yarn. It's mostly just resting right now, because of my new project.

The new project is inspired by Melissa's journal, where she was talking about her plan to knit one pair of socks a month this year. She picked twelve yarns from her stash, and twelve patterns from sock books, and she plans to draw a pattern and a yarn every month and knit the socks. I thought that would be fun to do, and I have the same sock books and plenty of sock yarn, so there you go, I'm doing it, too.

It would be more fun if more people were involved, so I recruited Rachel and Diana to knit socks, too. Who else is in? Heather? Kathy? Karin? Email me if you're interested! Since I'm copying the idea from Melissa, I'm calling it the Copycat Knitalong.

This month I'm using Smooshy sock yarn in a lovely denimy blue, and the pattern is Little Child's Sock from Knitting Vintage Socks. It's not a little sock, it's a sock to fit a grown up, it's just adapted from a child's sock pattern.

I'll take a picture of my progress on sock #1 tomorrow and post it. Melissa is already at the gusset of the first sock, but I'm only about halfway down the leg. There's plenty of time to catch up if anyone is going to start!

11:18 p.m. - 2008-01-13
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter