monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Still cold, yes, it's cold, I know, stop talking about it!

I started to write this entry yesterday, but because I am writing on a laptop (and this has happened several times before), about halfway through the entry, I hit a wrong key, and most of what I had written disappeared. I was too annoyed to start over, so that was the end of that.

Today I woke up early, having gone to sleep around midnight, with the help of my dear friend, Tylenol PM, so I have already been up for a couple of hours. I talked to Diana on the phone and we read a couple of journals together, and I promised that I would do an entry today, so here it is.

What I was going to write about yesterday was how cold it is here in Northwest Illinois! When I got out of work in the morning it was -13 or something terrible like that, and Rocky, one of the housekeeping morons, asked me if I could give him a ride home. He can drive, but something happened to his car, so he's been walking to work.

I don't mind giving anyone a ride home, and there is another one of the night housekeepers that I give a ride to when he needs one, too, but I think he's got a permanent arrangement with someone else now. This town is so small that anyplace you go is only 5 minutes away from home, so it's not an inconvenience to give someone a ride.

So Rocky had asked me if I would give him a ride home, and I told him to come by and pick up my keys so he could start warming up the car, because he gets done with work at 6:30, and I don't get done until 7. When I got out to the car, it was warm and had all the snow brushed off of it! What's better than that?

Oh, I almost forgot this part. Bill was giving me my bathroom breaks during the night, and I mentioned that I was giving Rocky a ride home in the morning and Bill agreed that he doesn't mind giving him a ride home either, so I told him he could have the privilege next time.

So there we were, driving home through the cold, and it is so cold they closed the schools because a lot of the kids walk to school, and up ahead we saw a man walking, and I said something like, "That poor guy is walking," and Rocky looked and said, "I think it's Bill!"

I slowed down and Rocky leaned out the window and asked if he wanted a ride, because it was Bill! Bill jumped into the car and we gave him a ride to his house (and he had been almost home, it was just two blocks away), as he explained that when he got off work, his car wouldn't start after it had been sitting outside in the cold all night. He is a hunter, and he doesn't mind the cold, but he was finding it pretty uncomfortable when it was -7!

So if Rocky had asked Bill for a ride, well, he still would have ended up getting a ride home with me, but Bill could have come along and not had to walk a mile or two in the cold!

8:16 a.m. - 2009-01-16
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter