monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Okay, I feel better now.

Okay, I asked Juanita and Kim to update for my entertainment and they both did, and then Diana said she was doing one, so I had better write an update too.

I started some beef stew in the crockpot before I went to bed this morning, and when I woke up at 1, my house smelled delicious. Later I went to the store with RA, and bought some biscuit dough in a roll, and when the stew was almost done, I put a layer of biscuits on top of the stew to make dumplings. It was great!

Rachel and Ash came over to eat stew and they brought some episodes of Jeeves and Wooster to watch. I only watched half of one, and then I got a phone call from Inger to tell me all about her new granddaughter, so I took the phone into the den to talk, and missed the rest of the show. I've seen it before, so I didn't mind.

I went upstairs to take a nap before work, but I forgot to leave my cell phone downstairs, and a text message from Kim woke me up. I looked at the clock and thought it said 10, so I got up, but oh man, I was still so tired! When I got downstairs, I saw the kitchen clock and it was only 9! I should have gone back to bed, but instead I got cranky about it, and stayed up to knit and watch TV.

I called Diana to whine for a while, and then it was time to drag myself to work. I'm really not happy about this. What can I do to feel better? Hmmm, I need to remember that I am lucky enough to have a job where I can knit, and read, and play a video game on my DS. Not everyone can do those things at work, some people have to work!

Did you know that if you smile, and hold it for 15 seconds, even a fake smile so hideous that it is nothing more than a grimace, it will change the flow of blood to your brain and you will feel more cheerful? I read that somewhere when my kids were younger, and when we were all in a crabby mood I would make them 'smile' and hold it for 15 seconds. We called that Attitude Adjustment. I am holding a hideous grimacing expression right now, because I am adjusting my attitude!

Here are the things that I am thankful for:

1. I'm thankful that I have a job, especially this one where I can pretty much do whatever I want.

2. I am thankful that the cats like Rich better than me (because he feeds them and I don't). When he is sitting in the living room, they all go and sit next to him, and on his lap, but they leave me alone.

3. I'm thankful that the temperature outside got up into the 20s. It's practically Spring!

11:27 p.m. - 2009-01-20
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter