monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm sick of hearing Rich sing the Oompa Loompa song while he dances the cat around. It's not funny.

When we were IMing this morning before she went to work, Diana made a snarky comment about my recent lack of updates, so I thought I would write something, just to make her happy.

So I've been out already today, in the 6 degree cold (but wearing my warm wool handknit mittens) getting some groceries and stopping at the pharmacy to buy stuff to make Rich's cold better. I got EmergenC, Cold-Eze, and Vicks, and orange juice, do you think all that will cure him?

Last night I was being super quiet in bed, reading and knitting, so that he could sleep and get well, but Rich kept coughing, so he couldn't sleep and finally he got up and took some pillows and his down sleeping bag downstairs to sleep on the couch so he could prop himself up more, and maybe get some sleep. He seems okay today, but he's still hoarse. People are always sicker at night, so we'll see how he does tonight.

So after all that shopping this morning, i came home and put away the groceries and started making a spinach quiche. It's in the oven now, and it will be done in time for Rachel to come and have some for lunch.

Rachel has had a couple of meetings at the hospital this week (I think they are training meetings), and she gets an hour for lunch so she comes to my house to find some food. I almost always have leftovers and she is happy to get them, but today I am cooking.

Let's see, what else has been happening? The treadmill I ordered two weeks ago was delivered on Wednesday, in a big, mangled box! Rich went out to help bring it in from the truck, and he looked it over out there and told me it was fine, but I made him take it out of the (huge) box when he got it in, just to be sure it was okay before we signed for it.

Rich then proceeded to get all the exersize he needed for that day by hauling it to the den and setting it up for me. It has a shelf to hold a book or magazine so I can read, and a bar to keep a book open. I can prop my Kindle up there and read while I walk, so that's great. There is also a shelf for my ipod and another one for my bottle of water, so it's got everything. We put it in the den, facing the little tv, and I can watch DVDs while I walk, too.

Rachel read another article about the evils of artificial sweeteners, and sent it to me to scare me off of drinking diet sodas. Apparently in large quantities (just the way I like it, and with extra ice, too, please) artificial sweeteners give you symptoms of MS, and mess up your insulin response, make you eat more, break into your house when you aren't home and go through your refridgerator, and steal money from your grandmother's purse!

So over the next few days, I cut down on sodas, and this is Day Six of Life Without Pop. Oh, the humanity! I'm drinking about a gallon of water a day now, which I'm sure is good for me, but where's the fizz? Where's the bright, sparkling bite of that first soda of the day? Where did my personality go?

Just so it won't seem so sad and final, I am telling myself that I didn't quit Diet Pepsi forever, but just like Crazy Aunt Purl and the cigarettes, I am not really quitting, I am only pausing until I am older, then I will start again. Maybe when I'm 70.

Well, that is pretty much everything that is going on here, except for knitting, but I will make a knitting report tomorrow. When I write again. For Diana.

11:22 a.m. - 2009-01-30
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter