monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Do you remember the little Japanese house mouse?

Rachel needed a place to have a baby shower for someone she works with, so she asked if she could have it at my house, because her house is too full of valuable whatnots and my decor is kindly referred to as 'comfortable' and 'minimalist', which really means I have nothing in it that I have to yell at anyone not to touch (except Kim's harp).

Apparently everyone else she works with lives too far out in the country and it is inconvenient to have everyone drive out there. I don't see the attraction of living in the country, I really don't, especially since we already live in a small town in the middle of cornfields. I consider this the country!

So fine, I agreed that they could have their shower at my house, and Rachel came over yesterday to clean a little, and today she showed up at two, to put away a few things that were piled on the window seat - no one sits there, we just put stuff there, like piles of harp music, along with random games and puzzles and a set of wrenches. The window seat did look much nicer when all of that stuff had been piled in boxes and carried to the basement.

At about two-thirty, the actual hostess showed up, bringing bags of streamers, balloons and a purple plastic tablecloth, a bag of fruits and dips, and two small children. The children were two little girls and they were darling! One was about 3 yrs old and the other was six months old and they were all dressed up in pretty dresses, so they could not be cuter.

At 3, RA came to pick me up for our daily outing. We used to get a Diet Pepsi and drive around doing errands or just cruising around in the country while drinking our sodas, but now that I'm not drinking pop, we get a bottle of water (sometimes Vitamin Water - Dragonflower is my favorite!), but then RA found that there is caffeine-free Diet Pepsi at Culvers, so once a week, for a big treat, we get one of those.

We killed an hour, and then she dropped me off back at my house, where the shower was going on. Oh my goodness, there were four more little kids, and they were not quietly watching Beauty and the Beast in the den as we had planned, they had spread blocks and toys all over the living room and were running around being loud! Nobody else seemed to mind, so I just took the nice baby and carried her around and ignored the noise of the other kids, but wow, by the time they left, both Rachel and I were exhausted.

The hostess and one of the other moms had cleaned everything up beautifully, and the hostess, who is a photographer as well as a nurse, remarked on how great my antique-looking furniture in the dining room is, and said she has some ideas for using it to take baby pictures when Rachel has a baby. Haha, my antique furniture! That's hilarious.

We had both planned to spend some time walking on the treadmill, but neither of us felt like it, so she went home, and I went to bed.

I didn't sleep as long as I usually do, and Rich was in the kitchen doing dishes when I got up, so I took over the television and played some Animal Crossing until it was time to come to work, where it is quiet and clean. Ah, is this not happiness?

11:07 p.m. - 2009-02-04
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter