monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I am doing science.

I'm just going to sit here and write something, because I am tired of clicking on other journals and finding that there are no updates, so I am guessing that other people feel the same way about mine. (I know Diana does!)

What I'm knitting today:

I'm knitting a pair of socks for a friend who is paying me to make them. She bought the yarn, which is self-striping, in the colors of the local Catholic school sports teams. I don't think they are going to look like she was hoping they would, but they are pretty socks anyway.

Also, I finished all the pieces of Scott's Christmas sweater and just need to sew the parts together and it will be done!

What I'm cooking today:

I made a pot of chicken noodle soup, and went so far as to serve it to Rich while he was sitting on the couch under a blanket of cats!

What I'm reading today:

All Together Dead, the seventh book in the Southern Vampires series. I've read it before, but the series was so entertaining that I'm reading through them again.

What I'm watching today:

The Westminster Dog Show! I didn't watch the whole thing, because I had a headache, and also, I had to come to work, but I saw the herding group, and awww, the Old English Sheepdog was very pretty.

What I'm growing in a bowl on the kitchen counter today:

I am making sourdough starter in my kitchen, so I can make bread. I told Rich not to touch that cup of goop with the plastic over it because I'm doing a science experiment, and then I'm going to use it to make bread. I explained how you grow the sourdough starteer with flour and water and yeast spores that are floating around in the air, and told him that it is supposed to have a different taste in different parts of the country because the yeast spores are locally flavored (hmm, we live in the farmland of the midwest, so our yeast spores probably taste like dairy farms and soybean fields). He said it would be easier to go to the store and buy some bread, but that's because he is a philistine who just doesn't understand good bread!

That's all the news for today. If anything exciting happens, I'll let you know.

11:22 p.m. - 2009-02-09
3 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter