monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Busy weekend.

Kim was home this weekend, and we did some fun family things. She came home on Thursday night, saying that the trip home seemed really long, probably because she hasn't been home in two months.

Friday morning Kim went to the salon to get her eyebrows done while I went out to breakfast with RA. It was a farewell breakfast as she was going to be leaving on Saturday to visit her (insane) sister for three weeks.

When I got home, Kim and I went grocery shopping, and then had to unpack it all when we got home. Not really much fun, but we needed frozen pizza and Mountain Dew because Kim was home!

But Friday afternoon we had tickets to see Cirque du Soleil in Rockford, and it was really fun. I thought it would be boring like the Celtic Woman concert I went to with Rich last year, because it started out with that kind of music and some slow, but pretty, acts. Then things got progressively more interesting, and by the end it was just great! The two girls on the trapeze were breath-taking!

You probably are aware of my lousy super-power, that is, the ability to attract idiots to sit behind me and talk, which was working at top performance on Friday. A family of adults sat behind us, and the woman directly behind me kept talking about herself in a squeaky chipmunk voice! "I've gained 7 lbs! I can't believe I've gained 7 lbs!" while the other members of her family (and I think it was her husband and his parents), kept reassuring her that 7 lbs is nothing. I assumed from her distressed squeaks that she was a skinny little stick insect, but when the show was over, I turned around to see her, and she was pretty big. In which case, why was she making such a fuss over 7 lbs? She was also carrying on about her hair, her children, and oh, something else, but I can't remember because finally I started texting Diana to distract myself.

Saturday Kim went on a casual job interview - casual because she pretty much had the job already, they just wanted to meet her in case she had a lot of tattoos and a nose ring or something. She's going to be babysitting this summer, and it sounds like a great job. The families of the little boys are going to buy pool passes for Kim and the kids, who like to play video games, so they will love Kim, who is the video game queen, and they don't mind if Sando hangs around, too!

Saturday afternoon everyone went to see Coraline in 3D - Rich and I, Kim and Sando, Rachel and Ash. (Sando is almost completely assimilated into the family.) Rachel knows the story almost by heart because she had the audiobook to listen to in her car as she drove back and forth to college and later when she commuted to nursing school, and she listened to it many times. Rich and I had heard most of it before, and the rest of them weren't familiar with it at all. The movie was great, and I could watch it again. When we got home, I downloaded it to my Kindle so I could read it, and the movie was very close to the original story. Sando said his younger brother is a huge fan of the book, so I bet Sando will go to it again with his brother.

Kim went back to school this afternoon. She was feeling very crummy with the cold she has been coming down with since she got here, and it's gotten slightly worse every day. By the time she got to the dorm tonight, she sounded terrible and was ready to go to bed, so I hope she did. She forgot her planner and some papers she needs (which is not like her at all, she is usually very anal about packing her stuff!), but Rich said he would scan her papers and fax them to her tonight. He also read her the stuff she had scheduled in her planner over the phone so she could write it down!

Kim will be back on Thursday, because next week is Spring Break. We didn't know that back in November or December when we bought the tickets to Cirque du Soleil! So she's making two trips home in seven days! Oh well, we're always happy to have her.

12:10 a.m. - 2009-03-02
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter