monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I am an old lady - You kids turn that music down!

Did you see the picture of Neil that Diana posted on Facebook? He's playing the marimba like the amazing musician he is, but eek! His hair looks like a cat sucked on it! It was bothering me so much that I had to stick my nose in his business try to help him out with grooming tips!

So I wrote him the following email:


At the risk of sounding like the old lady I never want to be, I just want to tell you that you need to brush your hair! There is no one who likes long hair on young men better than I do, but you need to brush it. At least once a day. You don't have to turn into one of those guys who loves himself so much he kisses himself in the mirror every night, but brush your hair when you get up in the morning. Do you have a brush? Go buy one. Go now!

love,
Auntie Oozaroo

To which he replied:


Haha, I will brush it more, but to be fair I brush my hair at least a few times a week.

Yeah, maybe so, but once a day is not too much. When I told Kim about this exchange, she said she brushes her hair at least five times a day, but I explained that boys are different, even if they have hair about the same length as hers. Their standards of grooming and cleanliness are usually going to be below hers, except in the case of someone like Axel, who really is a total woman.

Speaking of Axel, he dropped by the office a few minutes ago and announced that he is going to start taking his Samoyed dog running with him, because he thinks she is gaining weight. He said last time he took her, she held him back, and I suggested that maybe she needs to work up to a full run. That poor dog. No one is up to Axel's standards.

What I'm reading tonight:

Such A Pretty Fat by Jen Lancaster. I've read it before, but I am going back through my Kindle book list, re-reading the good stuff and also reading some things I downloaded but haven't read yet.

Last night I read a book called Dime Store Magic by Kelley Armstrong. I bought it a few months ago but when I started it I didn't like it, so I only read the first couple of chapters. When I went back and tried it again, it was better, and I enjoyed it. Sometimes when I start reading something, maybe I'm too tired, or in a crabby mood, and I blow off things that I find out later I really like.

What I'm knitting today:

I finished a pair of short socks and mailed them to Shada along with a cranberry-colored angora beret. I sent them by Priority mail, so I hope she gets them by Wednesday and has the socks to keep her feet warm when she goes to the hospital on Thursday.

I've got so many books of cute baby clothing patterns, and I have been looking through them and wanting to make some baby clothes, so when I finished the short socks yesterday, I started a little sweater with a lacy trim, just for fun. It's a dark mauve yarn (Debbie Bliss Merino DK), on size 3 needles, and it's just a nice yarn to work with. It's making a beautiful fabric.

I started a plain scarf, also for a baby, just knit in garter stitch, from a ball of alpaca yarn that one of RA's daughters sent me as a thankyou for a sweater I made for her first baby. It's lovely soft yarn, and I've been looking for just the right pattern that needs only 1 skein. It's simple knitting - something soothing to work on while I read in bed.

I have two socks done, and the two sock mates on the needles, but I'm kind of uninspired by socks right now. Maybe it's just these socks. I don't like the colors of either of them. They're the last two balls of the Opal Rainforest colors, and they're just ... meh. That's okay, they'll be good for when I need something to work on and don't care what it is. Movie knitting, that kind of thing.



5:36 a.m. - 2009-03-24
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter