monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I am Dr. Mom.

Okay, that was amusing. The kid who cleans the office at night ('cleans' may not be the most accurate word) is a very quiet, polite young man. I'm not sure if he's just shy or if he doesn't talk because I'm working so hard (ha!), but that's fine, because I'm not trying to build any bonds of friendship with the cleaning staff.

So the quiet kid just came in to empty the wastebaskets, and he was being followed by one of the other cleaners, who was keeping up a constant flow of narration. It sounds like he was talking on and on about a car accident he was in one time, and my poor cleaner kid was just nodding and smiling. It doesn't take much to entertain me.

It was a quiet weekend for us, and I was off for three days and didn't go anyplace or do anything. I slept a lot but it was at weird times. Rachel was really sick with a cold, so she and Ash didn't even come over to grill on Saturday. There was some snowfall Saturday afternoon, but he could have grilled under the carport!

Today when I went out with RA in the afternoon for our daily outing - you know, we get a pop and drive around town talking and doing random errands - one of the places we stopped was the health food store. RA was looking for something to calm her anxiety during an MRI that is scheduled for tomorrow morning, and we couldn't find my favorite (over-the-counter) anti-anxiety med, 'Happy to Fly' at the drugstore, so we thought we would try the health food store.

We love the health food store! I used to take Gma there once a month or so when she stayed with me, and she'd leave with a big bag of stuff, and it's easy to do, because you walk around and find miracle cures for everything! I bought some anti-anxiety calming drops, a miracle cure for Rachel's cold, herbal sleeping pills, some nasal-washing equipment for Ash, a long-handled bath brush, and some Emergen-C for Rich, which turned out to be A. quite a bit more expensive than it is at the grocery store and B. not his new favorite antioxident flavor that smells like cat pee!

After all that, I went home and had a bowl of the chili I made in the crockpot this morning. It was pretty good, but a little greasy, thanks to the tasty but fatty addition of some spicy pork sausage! I noticed Rich was sweating, and I asked him if he was too hot in his sweatshirt but he said it was the chili - what a sissy!

Which all came in handy later, when Rachel called me after work to say that she was still sick, and hadn't had enough sleep, so she was exhausted and had a stressful day at work ! She was leaving a couple of hours early because another nurse came in when she didn't need to, but Rachel felt terrible and was glad to go home. I told her to stop in at our house because I had something for her!

I showed Rachel all of my cool 'stuff' while she ate a bowl of chili (good thing it was spicy hot, to clear her sinuses!), and then I gave her some of the anti-anxiety drops in a glass of water to calm her stress. and put some of the sleeping pills in a little bag for her to take when she got home. I gave her the homeopathic cold tablets to suck on (apparently to the ungrateful they taste like chalk), and the sinus-washing salts to take home for Ash! I'm not a doctor, I just play one on TV!

12:44 a.m. - 2009-03-31
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter