monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy Birthday Kim, and you're welcome for that gift of life I gave you!

Happy Birthday to Kim! We've been having Kim's birthday weekend! Kim is 20, and none of us can believe she is this old, especially me, because in my head she is about 11, and still sits on the couch watching cartoons all afternoon, wearing a big t-shirt and no pants. She still watches cartoons, but now she has a computer on her lap, and she is fully dressed, wearing headphones and playing Assasins Shock 2 while Spongebob plays in the background with the sound off and the closed captioning turned on.

Kim says she has some Chinese homework to do this weekend, but when I left she was busy killing aliens (see above), so I suppose she will be doing her Chinese tomorrow, as well as the laundry she brought home with her. I know, some mothers lovingly carry their child's laundry to the basement and wash it for them when their kid comes home from college for the weekend, but I tell my kids to throw some of my laundry in with theirs while they're at it. Hey, I'm allowing them to practice homemaking skills! I'm doing them a favor, really.

Rich's parents were here this weekend, bringing a gorgeous cake. Rich's dad took a picture of it, and when he sends me a copy, I'll post a picture, because it was beautiful! They got here Friday afternoon while I was at the salon, and when I got home, everyone was sitting around the dining room table, smelling the cake! I thought it was odd, until I got closer and could smell the cake myself - it smelled like chocolate fudge! I don't usually eat frosting - mine is the plate with a pile of frosting scraped off to one side - but I ate some of it this afternoon, and it was as good as it smelled!

We all went out for lunch/dinner (we ate so much lunch we didn't need dinner!) and then Rachel and I stopped at the grocery store for a couple of things before we went home. Rachel saw a display of venus fly traps and bought one, announcing that they were the perfect birthday gift for Kim! Oh boy, another pet that we have to buy crickets for.

Then we ran into my friend Shelley with her son who is about Scott's age, and found out that he is a big geek gamer who works the night shift like the rest of us, so Rachel invited him over to play video games with Ash. As we walked away to the checkout line, Rachel was pleased that she had made a playdate for her husband!

I only slept for 3 hours this morning, thanks to those 'sleeping pills' I bought at the health food store last week, that only work for three hours and then bam! I'm wide awake, so when Grandma and Grandpa went back to the hotel to watch basketball in bed, I went to bed in my room with Kim (and her laptop) on the bed with me for company.

So that was birthday weekend - cake, company (did I mention that Sando was around, too?), eating too much, a movie that we all liked (Secondhand Lions, it was good!) and now we are expecting another big snow, so I hope Rich's parents get out of town safely in the morning!

11:36 p.m. - 2009-04-04
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter