monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Let's do some good!

I just went out to the hall to get a Diet Pepsi from the machine, and ah! the happiness! My head is hurting, I'm tired, and I just wanted a pop! I hope Kim doesn't read this, because she was sending me encouraging text messages a while ago, telling me that I was fine, and I didn't need a pop, but you know what? I did, and I can tell that the monkey is getting back on my back, and I'm going to have to go back to just drinking water again, and not sneaking in the occasional pop like I've been doing for the last oh, 10 days, but for tonight, I'm having a soda.

RA and I go out every day and do our errands, maybe get a hamburger (or a BLT), and do some shopping, or drive around looking at the scenery or talking about things, but last week we decided we should use our time doing some good. So we made a plan to visit all the old dears in the ward who are housebound - go visit, take them a loaf of homemade bread or some brownies, and talk with them.

So RA made some bread on Monday, but we've had something going on every day this week that kept us from visiting anyone, and then today we had a free afternoon, so we drove out to the country to visit Evelyn. That visit went well, and on the way back home, we took the ward list that RA had in the car, and I read the names out to her and marked the ones we need to visit. It looks like there are about 8 or 10 - I can't remember the exact number, but enough that we can visit one or two a week every month.

I'm glad we went to Evelyn's today. She and her husband are very sweet and friendly, and they seem very happy together in their old house, which is full of piles of stuff. Evelyn was laughing about the piles of books and papers, but she says she knows right where everything is!

So that's what we did today, and then I went home and spent an hour in front of the computer, wasting time on facebook, but I tore myself away from it at last to make ham fried rice for dinner and then walk on the treadmill for an hour.

What I'm reading today:

Cotillian by Georgette Heyer. This is my favorite one of her books, and I am reading it on my Kindle. I've got an Agatha Raisin book that I'm reading in my bedroom, but I can't think of the name of it. The Love from Hell, or something like that. It's by M.C. Beaton. I love Agatha Raisin, and if you are interested (Juanita), the first book in the series is called Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death.

What I'm watching today:

The Librarian: Quest for the Spear. I got it from Netflix as part of my treadmill entertainment program. It was entertaining, kind of like a comic book, and I have the sequel to watch tomorrow.

What I'm knitting today:

Still working on the mint green baby blanket. I have two baby sweaters that need finishing in a basket in the living room, and I will probably get to them this weekend. Or not.

12:51 a.m. - 2009-04-16
6 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter