monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which the lost is found.

Ugh, my nose keeps running and I thought it was just allergies, because it's Spring, but now I'm wondering if I caught a cold because I gave myself hypothermia last night washing my hair in the kitchen sink! I was too lazy to take a shower before work, but my scalp was itching because my hair was full of product, so I thought I would just wash my hair in the sink, but Rich had turned off the hot water to the kitchen sink because of a leaky tube leading to the faucet.

He said it would just be for a few days, until he gets the part he needs for the faucet, and the hot water is still connected to the dishwasher, so I didn't think it would be a problem - he can still wash the dishes. I knew I was going to be washing my hair in cold water, but I didn't realize it would like washing it in glacier-melt! OMG, it got colder and colder until I was rinsing out shampoo that was so cold it could hardly bubble! My hair felt stiff like it was frozen and my scalp ached like when you get an ice cream headache, but it was over the whole top of my head!

When I was done, I wrapped a towel around my head and ran to put on a sweater because I was freezing! I think my core temperature had dropped drastically! My hair looked great when it was dry, though.

Yesterday was one of the big days of the year for Rachel and I. It was the day of the yarn festival that we go to every year! I don't think we've missed a yarn festival since the first one we went to in 1998. Well, actually Rachel has missed a couple of them because she was at college or living in Argentina, but I don't think I've missed one!

Last year Rachel had to work, so she sent Ash with me as her representative to buy yarn for her. This year she brought him along, and he brought his video camera, with an idea of making a webcast. When we got there, I asked one of the festival planners if it would be okay to film and she said he could, but just as he started, a wild-eyed old lady ran up to him and accused him of stealing her ideas, which got one of the other vendors worried, too, so he erased what he'd filmed (although I'm sure the old dear didn't believe him because she didn't trust his magic devil camera) and took the camera back out to the car so everyone could relax. Whew! We avoided mob action!

Rachel and I made the rounds and bought some stuff, including sock yarn and some cute little needle holders that keep your dpns together - hers were in the shape of skulls wearing pirate hats (darn! I just now realized I should have bought some for Diana, but hey, I've got the vendor's business card, so I can still get them!). I bought a set that had pink monkeys.

We kept passing our bags of purchases back and forth when one of us needed a free hand to write a check or flash a debit card, and suddenly we found that we were clutching one empty bag! We looked around where we were standing but didn't see any loose skeins of yarn on the floor, and just a glance over our bags didn't reveal anything missing, so we shrugged it off and went home with our happy yarn purchases.

Back at home, I took my bags upstairs and spread my stuff out on the bed, and that's when i realized what was missing! Two skeins of white yarn - one was an alpaca/wool blend and the other was mohair/wool. Oh noz! I knew which vendor I got them from - I have bought yarn from her every year, so she knows me. I have plenty of her yarn with labels on it in the yarn room, so I got a skein and called the number on the label and left a message explaining what had happened.

I thought that probably if anyone picked up the two skeins, they would have returned them to her booth, since they had her label, and I would be able to get them back from her. Her booth was almost the last one I went to, and I knew where I'd gone after that, so my Plan B was to call the other two vendors I stopped at after her and see if they had packed them up with their stuff.

Today the vendor called me back and yay! She had the two skeins! She said she left them with another vendor that I know who lives in Freeport, and I can call her and pick them up! I was so happy! The vendor also invited us to come to Wisconsin and visit her sheep farm and woolen mill, so I think that will be a fun field trip this summer!

I worked last night, and one of housekeepers who gives me a bathroom break at night told me that his band would be playing at a bar on Sunday afternoon. It was a benefit for an old friend that he played in a band with years ago, and he invited me to come and see them play. I told Rich about it, but he was going out with Ash to visit someone from church, so you know what I did? I cowboyed up and went by myself!

I tried to call Rachel to go with me, but I couldn't get her on her cell phone or her house phone, and I tried to call another friend from work, but she said she had to go to a funeral, and I couldn't think of anyone else to ask. As I pulled into the parking lot, I suddenly thought of calling Mike the Gossip King, and I would have, but I knew James' band was only playing for an hour, and I was already late to see them. So there I was, and I just went in by myself, and it was fine.

As I walked in, his band was playing a song I know, and I thought they sounded pretty good. They sang three more songs, all of them blues songs, and since blues = boring to me, I just listened with what I hoped was a pleasant expression on my face. I bought a handful of raffle tickets, hoping to win the Cubs baseball for RA, who is a fan (and don't think she doesn't get on my nerves with that crap), but I didn't win.

I was texting Diana and Sarah to tell them I was in a bar on Sunday afternoon, because I thought it was pretty funny. It gave me something to do, also, since I was just sitting there by myself, looking like I didn't have any friends! I thought that I would probably see someone I knew there, but I didn't.

When the next band started playing, they announced the name of the first song, and I stayed to listen to it but it was another boring blues song and fortunately Diana called me about halfway through it, so using my phone call as an excuse, I hurried out to the sidewalk and made my getaway.

Rachel called as I was leaving and said she had just woke up from a nap, so I met her back at my house where we ate chili and polenta, and that's when I got the call with the good news about my lost yarn. So there, I had a fun weekend with a happy ending, and I'm back at work tonight.

11:56 p.m. - 2009-04-19
5 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter