monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which Patsy danced and sang. It's showtime!

Day Two of driving RA around, instead of her picking me up to do errands and go out for lunch. Today she went back to the doctor who did the surgery and he okayed her for driving, so tomorrow we're back to our old routine. It's a good thing, too, because I cannot drive, talk, drink a pop and figure out those one-way streets downtown at the same time!

I stopped at the yarn store on Saturday when I was downtown with Rich for the movie, and the store was closed, so I went back today to get some yarn for a sweater for Kim. It's a good thing I stopped by today, because the doors were open and the owner was directing a man who was loading boxes! She's closing the shop!

She's been open barely a year, if that long, and I'm not surprised she hasn't been successful. She didn't have a really welcoming place, The table where people could sit and knit was always covered with stuff so you couldn't really sit there, not that you'd want to anyway, because the owner wasn't very much fun to talk to, and her selection of yarn was odd. She didn't advertise or offer classes, or do anything, really, to get her store known in the community. I just couldn't keep her in business by myself, darn it.

I did talk her into selling me the yarn I wanted for Kim's sweater (she was acting like she didn't want to sell me anything because she was too busy moving out), and I gave her my phone number because she says she is going to try opening a shop in the walkout basement of her house, in a small town about 30 minutes away. Good luck on that, but really, if I have to drive 30 minutes or more to get yarn, there is another shop I'd rather go to, and it has a Thai restaurant across the street! It's so much easier to buy yarn on the internet, anyway, and I can get exactly what I want.

When I got back home I started a pot of chicken noodle soup and while I made that I was having a webcam conversation with Kim and her roommate, Kristen. Kim wanted to see the cats, so Rich held up Zorro, who was pretty mad about it, I tell you what! Patsy ran off, but I caught him and danced him around in front of the camera for her. Kim will be home in just two weeks, and I promised to make a pot of soup for her when she comes home.

When Rich went to Tae Kwan Do, I went to bed and slept until it was time to come back to work, so I feel pretty good tonight.

11:41 p.m. - 2009-04-28
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter