monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's raining outside, you've nowhere to hide

It was dark and cloudy all day, and tonight while I was sleeping there was a huge thunderstorm that finally woke me up. I wandered downstairs and there was no one home, but Kim and Ana showed up a little later.

The girls had been out shopping for hair products to use in spiking Kim's new short hair. I think they're planning to do some styling tonight.

I went shopping for groceries today, because there was nothing to eat in my house, and now I'm happy and have food again. It's not that there was nothing to eat, but there was nothing to just make a quick sandwich or a bowl of soup. There were eggs, but no bread for toast, there was no peanut butter, or cheese to make a sandwich and again, no bread. There was milk but no cereal. It was terrible.

Oh, I just thought of something, I'm going to need to shop again early next week so Rich will have something to eat while I'm out of town!

Scott called tonight and he and Carolyn had been using drugs thinking of names for their new baby who will be born later this summer, and they wanted to try some of them out on me. OMG, they were terrible names, and I mean like Abelard, or Basil, or, in keeping with their Scandinavian theme (to go with Soren, which is a lovely family name), they were suggesting Enki! Well, I can promise he would be the only little boy in Kindergarten named Enki, but they might as well dress him every day in a t-shirt that says "Go ahead, take my lunch money."

They had been thinking of Peter Nils, which is a great name, and suddenly there was a flurry of craziness (and no one understands that better than I do, but luckily I got over it and also, Kim was a girl, so she was not named Aramis or Stryder), but then they mentioned Carl Anders, and that is also a good choice, so everyone needs to calm down now, and think of the child! The child who does not want to be named Basil after a garden herb or a mouse detective, no matter how great!

What I'm knitting today:

Almost finished with the edging for the pink/yellow baby blanket, in spite of the incident yesterday in which the yarn was sucked into the vacuum while Kim was cleaning cat hair blobs off of the rug!

Navy blue sock #1 for Rich out of some Fortissimi sock yarn. I think this is the last ball of that yarn that I have. I bought it on the internet a few years ago, and I really like it. I am making this pair for Rich, and I'm going to slip them into his sock drawer and not mention them, and see if he wears them without complaint. He thinks he doesn't like handknit socks.

Camoflage sock #1 for Scott, and I think it's Trekking yarn, but I'm not sure because there is no ball band. I was pulling purses out of my closet a couple of days ago, looking for a bigger bag to carry, and one of the ones I looked at must have been used for a work bag, because there were two half-done socks on needles in that bag! I think they've been in that bag for over a year! I put both socks in the basket by my bed, and they are my bed knitting now. The other sock is blue, and I'm sure that one is Trekking.

What I'm reading tonight:

I've got a bunch of samples I downloaded to my Kindle, so I'm going to read those and pick one or two that I like to buy.

Last night I read 'Good Girls Don't Have Fangs' by Molly Harper. It was okay, not great, but readable. Vampires are getting so played out, but this was a mystery, which is a good thing, and the writing was decent.

What I'm watching today:

'Enchanted' was on TV tonight and the girls and Rich were watching it. Something one of them said reminded me of another movie I thought Kim would like (well, she probably wouldn't like it, since there are no animated Japanese boys who look like girls, but I thought it was something she should see), but now I can't remember what it was or why I thought of it. There goes my memory - it's all those years of drinking Diet Pepsi out of aluminum cans.

11:27 p.m. - 2009-05-13
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter