monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I hope I haven't forgotten anything.

What I'm reading today:

I'm reading Dull Boy, by Sarah Cross. It's about a boy with superpowers, who is trying to keep them secret and then he meets some other kids with superpowers. They want to learn to use and control their powers, and not allow themselves to be dissected by scientists or used for evil. It's very good.

Because I am reading about super powers, when the security guard came by on his rounds, I asked him what his super power would be if he had one. After some discussion, he decided that invisibility would be useful, especially in his regular job of police officer.

I still want laser eyes so I can blow out the tires of people who piss me off in traffic. I could also use it in conjunction with my mutant power of attracting idiots to sit behind me and talk in the movies! I could sear off the bottom of their drink cup and give them a lapful of cola!

Would a super power and a mutant power cancel each other out?

So this weekend I was working, but it seems like I remember going out and doing a few things - I just can't remember what they were.

On Friday, RA needed to go to Rockford to buy something for her grandson, so Kim and I went along with her. I bought some bathing suits online for Kim and the sizes weren't right, so I needed to return three of the four suits to Old N@vy. We went to Old N@vy, did the return, and then I spent too much time waiting for Kim to try on swimsuits. Thank goodness I could amuse myself by exchanging text messages with Diana, who was at work.

Kim has a summer babysitting job, and it sounds like she will be spending a lot of time at the pool, so I want to be sure she has enough suits to always have a clean one. That's why I bought so many, okay? She'll always have a clean one, and if one of them suffers chlorine destruction, or gets the dreaded Fuzzbutt, she'll still have suits to wear.

The hotel we'll be staying at in SLC next week has a pool and a jacuzzi, too, so she needs to pack a swimsuit. Good thing she's got some!

I'm starting to get a little edgy about the trip to SLC, but it's okay. I'm trying not to think about it, but I do have to start packing, which will require some thinking. I'll try to just think about the fun parts - Soren! Diana! Meeting Becky! Scott and Carolyn cooking for me! Me cooking for them!

Okay, now I'm a bit more excited.

Oh, I almost forgot the exciting weekend news! Jeanette had her baby and he's very lovely! Inger sent a text message with a picture to my phone, and today (with Kim's help) I was able to email the picture to Rich's parents! I felt pretty clever about that, I tell you what.

What I need to do before we leave for SLC:
1. pack
2. finish the sweater for Soren
3. buy some groceries for Rich to eat while we're gone
4. there is no 4! I only have those few things to do!


3:17 a.m. - 2009-05-18
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter