monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SLC pt 2, (Whatever blows your hair back)

I got up and went to the grocery store, came home and put a load of karate clothes and towels in the washer, and now I'm sitting in the living room with my laptop, just like Kim always does. In fact, Kim is on the couch with her laptop right now, playing Guild Wars or something.

Rachel just called to see if we were doing anything interesting, but the answer is no. I invited her to come over later for spaghetti carbonara, and she might do that, so I'm committed now - I'm going to have to cook.

I'm trying to work up some enthusiasm for writing more about the SLC trip, and I think I might start condensing it now.

Saturday is the day Scott and Carolyn take Soren to feed the geese at Liberty Park, and so do lots of other people. Scott told us that if you go later in the day, the geese are so stuffed with bread they won't take any more from you. There were lots of geese, lots of goose poop, and many people with dogs walking the path around the park. Diana was taking pictures of geese, and also the guy in the kilt, and suddenly she said, "We have to go, he saw me taking his picture!" Scott pointed out that he was wearing a kilt and was probably thrilled to have his picture taken.

After the park we met up with Diana's sister-in-law, Becky, at a restaurant that Diana recommended. It was either the Blue or the Red Iguana, but I can't remember which. (It was the one we didn't eat at two years ago in SLC when Katie Wolf was with us.) It was fun to meet Becky, whose blog I read, and who I've exchanged email notes with, but never met before, and the food was great, but OMG, could the music have been a little louder? Because when I'm trying to talk to people in a crowded restaurant, that is not the time when I want to hear the greatest hits of the sixties!

We went back to Scott and Carolyn's place after lunch so Carolyn could teach a harp lesson. I thnk Kim and Radar went to the hot tub for a while, and Diana, Becky and I sat in the living room to talk. Soren was supposed to take a nap, but there was too much going on, so he got up and was a bit crabby, but still the smartest nice baby ever.

When the harp lesson was over we sent Scott and Carolyn out to have some time alone, and Diana and I let Soren watch all the Alladdin he wanted to see and some of Ratatouille, too! Because that is how we roll, and that baby could not have been happier! We were teaching Becky and Radar how to play Euchre when Scott and Carolyn came back, and Scott was happy to take over for Radar, who was really just being nice to us by playing, and he wandered off to play computers with Kim. I am happy to say that Becky totally caught the vision of Euchre, and I hope to play with her again some day.

Carolyn made dinner for us, and I just want to say how much we appreciated all the cooking she did while we were there. It was wonderful, and included waffles with strawberries and real whipped cream. That she whipped!

After dinner Becky needed to head for home, and there was some loose talk about going to a mall to use a gift certificate that RA gave to Kim before we left - it was good for a candy store that is only in Utah and was a gift to RA but she hadn't used it and thought we might like to. Well, we were all pretty tired, so after we said goodby to Soren and his parents, and all the pictures and goodbyes with Becky, what we actually did was to tour SLC in Diana's open convertable.

The tour? It was one of the best parts of the trip! Diana drove us up the mountain to look at pretty houses, and down into the city to look at buildings, and by the park to look at the people, and somewhere along the way she decided to find the This is the Place monument. So we drove to that and actually got out of the car and looked at it.

We were in the open car, so we had 360 degree views, and the wind was blowing our hair off, and also getting a little cold on the passengers in the back seat. We told them to huddle together like sled dogs for warmth, and some effort was made, but they said the seatbelts were too constricting.

Back at the hotel, Diana and I went upstairs to read in bed, and the kids stayed downstairs to watch anime. We tried to spy on them for our entertainment, using the camera in my cell phone to look over the edge of the loft (The loft! I told you it was a great room!) like a periscope, but they caught us! Oops!

We got up in the morning and went to church in the very cool old building where Scott and Carolyn's ward is. We sat in the balcony of the chapel, because dang! A balcony! After church Diana left to drive down to St. George and spend the night with her parents before driving back to Phoenix, and I was sad to see her go.

After church we went back to the apartment and ate leftovers of all the stuff Carolyn had cooked for us, and Kim and Radar played Super Mario World for us while we talked. We tried to think of funny stories about Kim to tell Radar!

The rest of the night was just packing and trying to sleep, knowing we had to get up early in the morning to go to the airport for Kim and I, and to the bus back to Idaho for Radar. (I think I slept maybe three hours, but I got a nap on the plane.)

We had an easy flight home, and Rich was waiting for us at the airport. When we got to our house Rachel and Ash came over and grilled hamburgers, and then we were so happy to go to bed! Nothing feels as good as getting home to your own bed!

It was a wonderful fun trip, and I'm looking forward to going back in the fall when they have the new baby, whose name might still be Carl.

Here's a picture of Soren eating a cookie at the hotel:

5:52 p.m. - 2009-05-27
4 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter