monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which we experience the miracle of the bagels.

So today I saw a bag with two bagels in it, sitting on the kitchen counter. I asked where they came from, and Kim said they were in her purse! Ah, then that means they were leftover from the Miracle of the Bagels!

When we got to SLC last week, Scott and I went shopping the first night to get a couple of things he needed. I wanted to get some snacks for the hotel, because I hate being awake in a hotel in the middle of the night with nothing to eat!

At the grocery store, I got some soda, some cookies, and then some cream cheese and sliced turkey, to make sandwiches with bagels. I bought some raisin bagels, but when we got back to the hotel that night, we didn't have the bagels with us. I wasn't sure if I actually bought them and just left them at Scott's, or if I just didn't buy any, thinking I would get some from the breakfast bar in the morning.

So in the morning, Kim did get a bagel at the breakfast bar, but it was just one lonely bagel, and I forgot to ask Scott and Carolyn if we had left the others at their house, so we had cookies and a bag of almonds at the hotel but no bagels.

I mentioned wanting bagels when we went to W@lmart, but in the excitement of buying hair products and lip gloss, I forget to buy the darn bagels, so we still had no bagels. When I said I wanted bagels, Radar mentioned that his favorite bagels were from Einstein Bagels, but we were on our way to ... somewhere...and I forgot about them again. That was Saturday afternoon.

Saturday evening when we were on the driving tour of SLC with Diana, we passed an Einstein Bagel place, but it was on the other side of a busy street, and looked closed, so I didn't mention it. That was when I remembered that we still had cream cheese and turkey back at the hotel and we needed bagels to eat with them, so when we stopped for gas, I looked in the gas station, but there were no bagels. There was a 7-11-ish store across the street, so we went there on a bagel hunt, but it turned out to be a store full of India food, which would have been great if I was going to be in town longer, because we could have cooked some exotic food, but since we were leaving the next day, well, not so helpful. They had no bagels.

So Sunday we went to Scott's ward, and it was, you know, church, but afterward, I was out in the hall with Soren while Carolyn was in Relief Society, when two people came over and opened a door and started bringing out rolling carts full of bags of bagels!

Apparently they were day-old bagels that had been given to the ward to distribute to the members! Each of us picked up a bag containing four bagels of different varieties, and we were pretty pleased! Especially when Radar looked carefully at the bagels, and announced that they were Einstein Bagels! It was a miracle!

So there you go, the miracle of the bagels, and Kim still had two of them bagged in her big purse a few days later, so I brought one to work with me for later. Will it be stale? Oh, I'm quite sure of it, but that will just make it delightfully chewier.

11:24 p.m. - 2009-05-30
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter