monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Insert clever title here.

It rained off and on today, and when it wasn't raining, it was looking like it was going to rain, so Kim and I stayed in most of the day.

What I'm knitting today:

Baby hats for the Pediatrics floor. Rachel said they need some hats, which they use to keep up the body temperature of the littlest babies, so I knitted baby hats all weekend and I'm finishing the last one tonight. They don't need them every day, or even every week, so she said the six I made will be plenty for now. I used a roll-brim hat pattern that I found online, and adapted it to have a fold-up brim, because I thought the roll-brim might be uncomfortable to lay on. I made a piece of I-cord about 5 inches long at the top and tied a knot in it, just to made the hats cuter. I used leftover partial skeins of Wool-ease and knitted on size 3 needles. Diana, the world's tightest knitter, would probably need to use a size 8.

What I'm reading today:

I finished The Hound of Rowan by Henry H. Neff last night. It's very Harry Potter-ish, but leans a little more toward villians and heroes from Celtic myth.

Before that I read Diary of a Chav by Grace Dent. Both of them were Young Adult fiction and made good reading. I keep getting YA recommendations, and I like them, so I keep reading them.

I'm expecting to get The Demon's Lexicon in the mail this week, which is the first 'real' book by my favorite fanfiction author, Sarah Rees Brennan. I love her writing! I told Kim I was going to read it out loud to her, and she groaned, not because she doesn't like the books I recommend, but she feels jealous because she hasn't published anything yet! She's so funny. She writes all the time and has a million ideas, and I expect to see her published someday, so she needs to just relax and enjoy the good things other people write. The best writers are readers, too!

What I cooked today:

I haven't made spaghetti in a while, so Kim and I made a big pot of sauce today. We froze two thirds of it, and made noodles to eat the other portion. I bought some Quinoa and Corn spaghetti noodles to try and they were pretty good. They had a firmer texture than regular spaghetti, and I liked that about them, but Kim thought at first that they weren't done enough.

It wasn't an exciting day, but if anything else happens, I'll let you know!

11:27 p.m. - 2009-06-01
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter