monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No douchebags need apply.

So today I went shopping with RA, who needed a few things from W@lmart and also needed to stop at the grocery store.

Yesterday I read an article in a magazine about how dark chocolate cures practically everything, so you know I had to try that! We went to the candy aisle at W@lmart, and bought bars of several different brands of dark chocolate, all of them having 70% or higher cocoa content. The article says you have to eat at least an ounce of the chocolate every day, and I am prepared to give it a fair try.

Then we went to the grocery store, and on the way in, I glanced at the bulletin board, the one that anyone can post a notice on, and there was a sign that said, "Local Band in Need of Bass Player, no douchebags need apply." I took a picture of it with my cell phone to send to Diana because it was funny, but I was thinking about it later, and I'm not sure it was the most effective way to weed out the douchebags.

It's not going to be the douches who will recognize themselves and not call the number. The humble, talented musicians are the ones who are going to hesitate to call, just in case they might be a douchebag and not be aware of it. The ones who have more than enough self-esteem, the ones who are sure it doesn't mean them? Those are the ones who will call! The ones who are the douchebags, but can't recognize their inner douche, those are the ones who will call for an audition and be so annoyed when they don't get hired.

I just thought it was a funny, but misguided attempt to weed out the applicants.

When we got back to my house, we sat in the driveway for a few minutes, trying squares of the different chocolate bars. One brand had three content levels - 70%, 82% and 90%, so we tried one square of each. You know what 90% cocoa tastes like? Flat and bitter, kind of like eating black chalk. I liked it, though. RA was not so excited about the stronger flavors, but she has more of a sweet tooth than I do. We both felt kind of sick after eating what we estimated to be an ounce of the chocolate, so I don't know if I'll be able to eat it every day. Maybe I can make mole sauce for chicken or something like that to make it more nourishing and less rich.

1:42 a.m. - 2009-06-10
4 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter