monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I recap an entire week.

Okay, don't panic, but I think I came to work without enough yarn, and I'm going to run out before the night is over. Good thing I keep some emergency knitting in a drawer!

I know it's been a few days since I wrote but I was doing ... uh... something, I just can't remember what, and I slept a lot, too.

Since I went to Speech class on Monday, and it was the wrong day, I had to go again on Thursday. I was worrying about it, and whining a lot, and then on the night of the class, Kim was gone with Rich's car, Rich had to use the van, and the only car available was Kim's, which had a low tire and her gas tank was on fumes, too.

So I called Rachel, who had previously offered to go to the class with me for support. She brought her DS to amuse herself with video games, and we went to class.

Well, okay, I did offer to buy her dinner at Taco Bell (her favorite!) if she would go with me to just drop the class, because I was really dreading it, but she said that Ash told her to make me go, even if I cried! I said, "I could cry!" but she wasn't listening, so off we went.

We sat in the back of the room, and after the first three or four speeches, I went up to give mine and get it over with. You know what happened? I was actually pretty good, and people laughed at the funny bits, so whew! When that was over, I could relax and wonder why I had thought it was such a big deal, and Rachel played her DS, and we both chewed some gum while the rest of the class gave their speeches, but mine was done! Yay! I kept on looking enthusiastic and encouraging at the other students, but by the end of 20 speeches in an hour and a half, it's hard to keep up that act.

When we left the building to go home, Rachel said I owed her some Taco Bell for that experience!

It was Kim's first week of working at her babysitting job. She is not used to getting up early, and had a hard time getting to sleep at night before 1 or 2, because she has developed the habit of staying up late. (Oh, my little night owl children!) So by the end of the week Kim was really dragging. A couple of the days were extra long, too, because the moms had meetings after work. I think Thursday was the day Kim was so tired she fell asleep on the couch while watching the kids play video games, and when she woke up, they had piled blankets and pillows on top of her so she could hardly get up.

So Kim was tired and slept a lot on the weekend. She was coming down with a cold and feeling pretty crummy by Sunday, but she's been drinking a lot of EmergenC and taking Advil. She's starting to feel better tonight.

Saturday was fun because we went to dinner at Jesse's house and had grilled pizza! What is better than that? I want to make grilled pizza every weekend! I'm going to surprise Rich with a new grill for his birthday since his is so old and well-used that the rack fell apart! Ash has been bringing their little charcoal grill over to our house on weekends to cook on that - and wow, Ash is great at grilling, by the way - but it would be nice if he didn't have to transport the grill back and forth from their place to ours every week.

(Oh, sorry, I got distracted by dreams of a new, shiny grill.)

So we had the great pizza at Jesse's and played a game, and played with the kids, and I forgot my knitting so I was kind of fidgety, but Jesse's little girl let me braid her hair, so that helped. I love to braid hair, and who remembers the party after Soren was blessed, when I was braiding the hair of any of the girls who would sit still and let me?

Today I went out with RA when I woke up in the afternoon, to get lunch, and do a couple of her errands, and also drop off Sando's cell phone that Kim found in our couch Sunday afternoon. The last time he was over was Friday night, and Kim and I cannot imagine a world in which a person can go without their phone for two days wtihout curling up in a fetal position in a corner and twitching, so we were even more surprised when he didn't seem concerned about it at all. I would have crawled on my hands and knees if necessary, to recover my phone if it was lost, but apparently men are different. I was in the den, reading web journals while I waited for RA to come over, when I heard Sando's Phil Collins ringtone, and it was an incoming text message from a friend, so I grabbed his phone and put it in my purse to drop off at his house so he wouldn't miss anything, but really, I don't think he even cared.

While we were out we stopped at Rachel's to admire her new couches. Ash was at my house, filming a scene for his new short film in our basement, but Rachel showed us the rough cut of the visiting teaching movie and RA was very impressed! I think she was expecting it to look like a little home movie, and she can't believe what a great job he's doing and how professional it looks!

As we were driving back to my house, Rachel called me on my cell to see if I wanted to go do some errands with her, and since I am happy to ride around in the car (like a dog) as long as I have a cold pop to drink, I went from RA's car to Rachel's, and we did Rachel's errands. We also went to the store to find Matzo mix, because I wanted to make chicken soup for Kim, to help her cold feel better.

I got home just in time to make the soup and feed some to Kim when she got home. Rich, Kim and I ate the entire pot of soup, because Chicken Soup with Matzo balls is everyone's favorite! I might need to make more tomorrow.

Tonight I'm back at work, with my knitting, which is a blanket for Karin's baby. Or Jenna's. I can't decide, but it doesn't matter. I can make baby blankets until the end of time as long as I have something to read. They are so soothing. (Diana and Becky - it's the same pattern as the one you saw when we were in SLC.)

11:17 p.m. - 2009-06-15
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter