monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I go to camp.

Since Rich went to camp I haven't had a call from him, only a text message the first day he was there, that said to reply if I got the message. I replied, but never got anything back, and I assumed that there just isn't any service out there in the woods.

One night I sent him a message that said I missed him, and included a piece of local news I thought he would be interested in. Two days later, I got a text back from him, responding to the news, and saying that his jeans were dirty because it's been raining, and the other pair he took have a broken zipper in the fly.

That was Wednesday night, and yesterday when I woke up, I had a plan! RA needed to go to Lena, a town that is about halfway between here and the campground, so we bought a couple of pairs of jeans, and set out on an exciting journey!

We made the stop in Lena so RA could buy some frozen apple slices. (She's making apple pie to enter in the county fair this year.) Then we were on our way to camp.

We had an idea of where the camp was, but it has been a few years since either of us have had a boy in our home who was going to scout camp, so we were a little fuzzy on the exact location. That does not stop us.

As we got close to the area where the camp is, we stopped at a convenience store, and I went in to buy a couple of bottles of Mountain Dew for Rich, and I asked the really attractive young man who was working at the counter how to get to the camp. He confirmed that we were going the right way, so good enough!

We did miss the entrance to the campground and had to go back, but we got there in time to see the evening flag ceremony, and then I found Rich and gave him the bag of jeans. He was happy to get them, but then he wanted to hurry off and get some dinner because he'd been kayaking all afternoon, and he was really hungry.

When I got home, I made dinner for Kim and I and then we just sat and watched TV for a while. Kim did get up long enough to clean the litter box, so that's something. She's had a really lazy week because she didn't have to work.

10:05 p.m. - 2009-07-10
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter