monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Better late than...

ve been back from SLC for a few days, but I haven't felt like updating my journal. At first I was tired, then I was just uninspired. I think there was too much blood in my caffeine system.

I didn't work last night, which means I have had enough sleep, and I've had two cans of Diet Pepsi this morning, so I think I can manage to pull something together for your entertainment.

When Diana was nagging encouraging me to write something (anything!), she said to write about the best thing I saw and the best thing we ate while we were out of town, so we'll start there.

The best thing I ate while we were at Scott and Carolyn's was the Spam they fried to go with eggs for breakfast the first morning! I know, I am not usually (ever) a fan of Spam, but they fried it in thin slices and it was great! It was like crispy bacon! I tried frying some myself the next day, and mine was more like bacon chips, but I'm sure I will get better with practice - which is why I bought two cans of Spam when I went shopping yesterday.

Also, Saturday night we had dinner at a Thai restaurant called Sawadee, and it was wonderful. They had the best Pad Thai I've ever eaten, and a wonderful desert that was kind of like tapioca pudding. The people watching was amusing there, too.

The best thing I saw while we were there was the night that Rich, Soren and Scott all sat in the living room watching a Star Trek DVD and eating chips. They were bonding like men, and Soren was happy to sit on the couch next to Rich, eating chips out of the bag. It was so cute!

There are rules about TV watching for Soren, and one of them is that he can only have the TV on as long as he is sitting on the couch, watching it. If he gets up to do something else, they pause his show, and if he wants to continue it, he has to sit back down on the couch.

That rule is so the TV doesn't just become background noise for his life, but it was a problem when Rich was watching another Star Trek episode on DVD, and every time Soren wandered away, Carolyn paused the show. The third time it was paused, Rich whimpered pathetically, "Soren, come back, I'm trying to watch this show!"

We had a really nice visit; the babies are so nice, and the weather was beautiful. We didn't go out much, because we were there to visit our grandchildren, so we were happy to stay in the house and enjoy watching Soren play with his legos while we rocked Carl and tried to get him to sleep. (All the company was too much for him!)

It was a good trip with Rich, too. The last two times I went out to SLC I was with one of the girls, but this time it was just Rich and I and it was fun.

6:42 p.m. - 2009-10-03
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter