monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the one where things happened all day long

I haven't been writing because I have been just whining and feeling sorry for myself and missing Rachel, but I guess that is what a journal is for, so I'll try to write more and share my misery with everyone.

Actually today wasn't all that miserable - in fact it was busy and not altogether unpleasant...4 December, 2001

I spent the morning doing the bills and getting my weekly letters ready to mail, and Jeanette called me in the morning to tell me ...oh wait, you don't know the whole story, so I'll tell you that later ... then when Kim got home from her half-day, I took her with me to pay the phone bill.

I had to go to the drugstore to pay it because I was late, as always, and when I got there, I realized I knew the clerk behind the counter - she used to be in our ward but then she stopped coming to church, in fact, got an attitude about the church, and she got pregnant and gave up the baby, and when she was pregnant, I ended up in a training class with her because we were both working at the clinic, but in different departments. She works there behind the counter where you pay the bills. Well she has snubbed me before, so I don't even act like I know her now, but when she saw me coming, she sent another girl out to wait on me! Can you believe that? I have never done one thing to her! When she worked at the clinic, we had to take the class to learn how to set up appointments in the software they use there, and she used to talk all the time about herself and her pregnancy and she wanted to give up the baby... She told everyone in the class all about it, even though I, for one, didn't care and didn't want to spend time every day discussing her and her problems. Well, she can't forgive me for knowing her story, I guess, which is a privilige I didnt ask for. So that made me mad and I had to call Shelley and complain about it and we agreed that she is crazy.

So the thing with Jeanette is this, that I sent her a letter about Rachel's farewell and the last fun weekend we had with everyone here, and it got returned, because she lives at that address, but she doesn't have her name on the mailbox, so if she gets a different mailman one day, she doesn't get mail because he doesn't know she lives there. So I put the letter on my desk and kept looking at it in an irritated way, and finally I called her and we talked, and I told her what I have been thinking about for a few days, that is, that Jason said it was unusual for Rachel's patriarchal blessing to say that she was going to serve a proscelyting mission, and I knew it also mentioned it in Jeanette's. So I got her's out and read her that part and I told her that it was right there in her blessing and she should start going to church and serve a mission. I also said that I knew she had a testimony, and I heard her not say anything in a way that meant she knew it, too.

So then we just talked about her coming to visit at Christmas, and she wasn't sure Inger would want her to be gone at Christmas, so I said I would write an email to Inger and just casually ask if she would mind if I kept her here for the holiday, and Inger wrote back and said that would be fine. I also said that I wished she would come and stay here with us but that she probably wouldn't unless she broke up with her boyfriend.

So last night Inger called me all excited, because Jeanette said she broke up with Patrick! I said I had talked to her about a mission and whatnot, and that this was a start, but not to expect a miracle, and Inger said she wanted a miracle! So we both prayed about it last night, I'm sure, and today Jeanette called to tell me about it, and I asked if he was a pig or if she was just sick of him, and she said she did it so she could start going to church! She says she is going this Sunday but she needs a dress. I told her to tell her mom she wants to go to church, and Inger would be happy to buy her a dress, and J said she doesn't want to tell her mom yet, because she will start acting all crazy, which is true, so I won't say anything to Inger, either.

So how about that?? I wish she would come down here and stay with us, but she is in school up there, so she might not want to change, but her lease is up in April and if we can figure out where to put all of her stuff, she could move here then.

Okay so then I took Kim and went to the library tonight, and she was acting moody and adolescent on the way home, and she went up to take a shower when we got home, and I made her some hot chocolate afterward and then she brushed her hair nicely and sat in the den to start typing her Young Authors story, and she didn't turn on cartoons, she put in her thunderstorm CD and I read a library book and knitted on Scott's scarf and it was so peaceful and lovely...

Then there was a knock at the door and the dog alarm went off, and I answered the door (Rich was up in the shower after karate) and it was Gabe! He claimed to be out for his nightly two-mile run, and he described his route, but you know what a liar he is, so I doubt that he runs all that way, but his hair was buzzed off (and that was not so attractive), and he says he goes in the army the first week of January. So good for him. It was probably the truth, and I hope it will be good for him. He claims he is going to be a cook in the army and afterward he will be able to go to cooking school, blah blah woof woof.

While he was talking, I started mixing up chocolate chip cookies just for something to do, and he didn't stay long, so then I spread the batter in a 9X 13 pan and baked cookie bars, which is so much better than making drop cookies! Then Kim finished up her story and we did our reading in the B of M - we are reading three chapters a night to finish it by the end of December, but since we started in Helaman, I think, there is a gap missing in the middle, so we'll start over in 1 Nephi in January. I told Jeanette about our goal, and we talked a little about reading it like a novel in a short time, so I am confidently expecting to hear from her that she is reading it, too.

So what a day, huh? I had a meeting with my boss, too, to discuss my review, and he give me my usual tiny raise. It was friendly and interesting, in that he told me that he knows Dee is a liar, which amuses the heck out of me!! Hahaha! I have not been sure he knew it, but now I know.

I'm knitting like a slave on Scott's scarf today, and I ripped out what I did on the one I started for Jeanette. It was with two strands of Decor in the dinosaur green I bought for the dog sweater, and I was going to do stripes with the purple and blue, but the two strands worked on a size ten needle was killing my tendinitis sweetie, so I started a new one with the purple Decor, and went to Verna's today to get two more balls of it. I'm using smaller needles, and I'll work on that one at night while I read in bed, and Scott's is my living room knitting.

Suzy from the Historical Society came over yesterday and we showed each other our Wizard scarves, and hers looked so good knitted in a tube that I went to Verna's and bought more yarn so I could do another one. Because I needed more yarn, you know.

10:08 p.m. - 2001-12-04
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter