monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Turn your phone on!

29 December, 2001

Dear Mooksy,

Well, we still don�t have much snow, barely enough to cover the ground, in fact, but it�s cold as�well, as cold as anything cold you can think of.

I worked the midnight shift on Thursday night and slept until about 12:30 Friday morning, and woke up in time to hear Scott and David downstairs in the hallway, getting ready to leave for Rockford to do some shopping. I got out of bed and called down to them to take Kim�s cell phone with them, and Scott said he had it.

When I toddled downstairs, Rich was in the middle of packing the tree ornaments into a box and taking the tree down. I made toast and sat in a chair to drink a Diet Pepsi and watch him work. Kim was watching cartoons on TV, and I sewed the underarm seam on Scott�s brown cable sweater while we discussed a shopping trip to Rockford to allow Kim to spend some of her Christmas money.

So yes, Scott�s cable sweater is almost finished. I just have the side seam left to do, and I loved it on the other side of the sweater when I sewed it up and the little half-cable at the front and back side edges joined together to make a beautiful whole cable! Once the seaming is done, I need to pick up the neck stitches and do the neckband and then it�s finished!

We got a nice fat package from Rachel in the mail; she sent a letter and some little presents for us. She included a sealed letter for Scott in the package - it was one that she had tried to mail to him at school, but it was returned to her because she put too much stuff in the envelope. She sent a Japanese-language Book of Mormon for him for Christmas and Scott wasn�t home, having gone to Rockford, so we put his book and his envelope on the counter for him, and I tried to call him on the cell phone, but he didn�t have it turned on!

So I threw some clothes in the washer in an effort to not be a complete slacker, and we got dressed and went to Rockford. I took the Norwegian sweater I�m knitting for Rachel in Loden Leaf green (a dark olive � we bought it in a yarn store in Nebraska, I think) and cream, and did a few rows of that in the car.

We were all listening to the radio in the car and I was knitting when a car passed us and we saw Jenny Olafson waving from the backseat! Her husband Rusty was driving, his brother Joel was in the front passenger seat, and another woman was in the back seat with Jenny, so of course I was dying to know if it was Joel�s date and where they were going?? I assumed they were all going to the movies or something like that.

We asked Kim where she wanted to go first, since it was her shopping trip, and she said Media Play. We parked and went in, and it was freezing in the parking lot, let me tell you, and the first thing we saw in the store was Joel, walking around the DVDs. So I went and talked to him and he asked how Rachel is doing, and how is the Spanish going? (He just got back from his mission, to Paraguay). I told him we got a letter from Rachel and that she sounded like she was pretty much over the whole MTC experience, and that she was feeling a little cynical about the lovely Christmas presentations, and he laughed and said yes, a month is about how long it takes to be over the MTC. He also said that she is lucky to have 4 Hermanas (sisters) in her district, that usually they only have 2! He was looking for some earphones to take to BYU with him, so he can listen to Metallica without disturbing his roommates, I guess.

So I wandered off like a baby duck to look at books and magazines, and found Jenny and the other girl in the book area. That girl turned out to be their brother's wife. Rusty was there, too, pushing the baby around in a stroller, and they weren�t able to find the headphones Joel wanted, so they were going to go somewhere else to look.

I tried to call Scott from that store to see if they were still in town and wanted to meet us for a hamburger, but he still didn�t have the phone turned on, and I complained to Jenny about it.

I bought a book and didn�t find the knitting mag I was looking for, but I found Kim and we looked around together for a while. Kim bought Monkey Island really cheap off of the sale table. It�s a combination game of all the Monkey Island games on one CD. We paid for our stuff and drove down the road to Best Buy.

Rich and Kim dropped me off at Borders and went to Best Buy, where apparently they met up with the Olafsons again. I had a nice little wander around Borders and got a new knitting book, and a couple of other things before Rich and Kim showed up. Kim had bought the latest edition of Monkey Island, that wasn�t included on the CD she bought in the other store, and she got a Harry Potter video game for the PC, too

So we walked out to the car and Kim suggested that we should go to McDonald�s since there was one right across the street, and I tried dialing Scott again as I got in the car, and it was ringing because he must have finally turned the phone on! We were driving out of the parking lot and I asked him where they were, and he said, �Best Buy, well, actually between Best Buy and Hallmark, and I just saw the Olafsons in Best Buy,� so I said, �Are you in the parking lot? We�re just leaving!� and he said they were, so I asked if they wanted to meet us at McDonalds, and he said, �Sure, you mean the one that�s visible from here?� and I said yes, and by then we were out on the road, and I told him to wave so I could see him, and he waved and I could see him and two other guys standing in the parking lot! It was pretty cool.

When we got to McDonalds, the Olafsons were just getting out of the car! So Scott and David, and the other guy, who turned out to be his buddy Andy, came in and we all ate, and it was fun! It turned out that when Jenny and Rusty saw Scott in Best Buy, they told him his phone wasn�t on and that I was trying to call him, so that�s why he turned it on!

So I took a nap when we got home, and now here I am at work. This is the third of three midnights in a row. Thursday was fun and entertaining because there was stuff happening, what with the phone fraud attempts and everything, but last night was a long slow night with almost nothing going on at all. I finished the book I was reading and I hadn�t brought another one, and I was tired, so it was just loooooong.

1 January, 2002

Scott and David were here last night, and a few of their friends showed up, so we all watched TV in different rooms and then we drank sparkling cider at midnight and watched the ball drop in Times Square.

Today Scott is doing laundry and packing to go back to school. Kim is doing some homework before she goes back to school on Thursday, and Rich is watching TV with his dog. A nice quiet day at home.

Love you-

Mumsy

1:34 p.m. - 2002-01-01
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter