monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The day after the day after.

26 December, 2001

Hi Boo-

Well Christmas is over and Grandma and Grandpa (and Jeanette) went home today. Grandma read the notebook I made with all of your letters in it, and when we got the letter on purple paper that arrived Monday, I read it out loud to everyone. I know I've written you a letter since then, but I don't know if I mailed it or not. Anyway, as they were leaving, Grandma asked me to type and send them a copy of any letters we get, so I said I would. Don't worry, I'll edit out anything they don't need to read.

They gave us a scanner for Christmas, so I can scan pictures to print and send to you. AND I can copy and enlarge my knitting patterns, like the one for the stupid Nagano sweater, so I can get to work on it. I did a couple of rows while I was watching a movie with Jeanette on Monday night, but I ended up ripping them out because there was a mistake in it. I'm whipping off a Norwegian sweater like the gray one I made for Scott and I'll send it to you as soon as I'm finished. I hate to make too many sweaters for you, because I don't want you to have too many to carry around with you when you don't need them, but I want you to have some to wear if you're cold.

Jeanette gave Kim a clear blue plastic inflatable armchair for Christmas, and Grandpa gave her a tiny little clip-on light that goes on the Gameboy Advance, so Kim has been relaxing in her chair and playing games. Last night Scott sat in the chair and played Chrono-trigger for a while. We are keeping the chair in the den and closing the door at night to keep it safe from the cats.

David got home from school on Tuesday night, so he and Scott went to see Lord of the Rings yesterday. It was the second time for both of them. I gave David his scarf and he liked it (or pretended to) and Jeanette and Scott both like theirs, too. Grandpa gave Scott a big check for money for school and gave you 300 dollars that I will put in your account, or I might use it to buy your medicine and send you a boxful of it. I want to get the whole 18 months worth filled and sent to you while you are still in this country. I keep thinking you are going to be in California for a while, so I'll still be able to send you things there, but that might be just my imagination.

Oh, you know Joann from work, whose daughter goes to SIUE? She's the one who brought you the Easter basket? Well, her daughter was just diagnosed with Mono! I guess it's going around school! I asked her if her daughter had been going out with the same guy as you, like maybe that's where she got it, but Joann said no.

It's so wierd at work right now, and I'm pretty sick of it. The political partnerships are changing at the switchboard, D. and NFB are being buddies right now, and J. is off sick a lot with her bad back and B. has been working for her, but now M. is fussing because B. was going to be getting a day of overtime, and he scolded her and then scheduled NFB to work instead. It's all very odd and edgy and it's hard to know what is really going on because everyone just wants to protect themselves. I like B. a lot, but I think J. is lazy and annoying. NFB, well, you know that history, but she has been consistently friendly to me for a while now, I mean going on a year, but D. is a big liar and I think the two of them are a bad combination. I expect that alliance won't last long, although NFB is pretty stupid, so she might not realize that 80% of what D. says is a lie.

Then this week Carol had to show me how to do a job for nights because Crabby Appleton, is off sick, so I need to do that job at night. Well while she was showing me the job, Carol was fussing because the night operators haven't learned to do "charges" (some data entry) yet, and she said M. wanted us to. So I wrote M. a note and said that Carol told me that he wanted us to learn it and I said I would come in for a few hours and learn it. Yesterday and today I spent a couple of hours doing it, and I can do it now, but when I asked Carol when she wanted me to do it, she said I wouldn't need to for a while. Well if it wasn't presented to me as an urgent thing, I wouldn't have done it at all, so now I feel kind of silly about it.

A job has been posted in our department, a day job that is part help desk and part switchboard, and M. encouraged me to apply for it, but after spending a couple of days at the help desk and observing the dynamics in the department, I don't think I want to do it. I applied for it, and if I talk to M. about it, I have some questions to ask, but at this point I think it would be more work (mentally and emotionally) for less money (no shift differential)! It's a day job with no weekends, so that's a plus, but on the other hand, I like working nights and weekends because no one is around!

So anyway, that's what's going on at work.

Scott has been out geeking this week, but he's home for tonight. He said that he was supposed to go on a Boy Scout campout tonight but he didn't want to, and when I got up this morning, he was still in bed. He said that no one called him about it, and no one came by to pick him up. Later today he asked me if he should go to the campground, because he felt a little guilty about not going, but I told him that if they wanted him they would have called him, and he said that made him feel better about not going, so he stayed home.

Love you baby.

Mumsy

P.S. David's mother called at 9 p.m. to let Scott know that they decided they didn't need him to teach astronomy at the campout today. Thanks for letting him know!

9:57 p.m. - 2001-12-27
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter