monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tech support

6 January, 2002

Dear Mooky-

I had just laid down for a nap after church, when I got a phone call through the relay system from Joe Graham. His computer was acting up and he wondered if Rich could come and look at it. Groan...

So we took Kim along with us to play with his cat, who is a killer, as you know, and we went over there and it took forever because he has the world's slowest computer! I was standing most of the time and my back and my feet were getting pretty tired of it, so finally I asked for a chair. He lives by himself so he only has one chair in his computer room, but he was happy to get one for me. He's such a sweet guy.

That cat is the one who ran up my arm and bit a chunk out of it a few years ago, if you remember, and I had to get a Tetanus shot! Joe was a little nervous about the cat around Kim - he says it doesn't like kids, but they did okay. The cat, whose name is Muffy, let Kim pet him a long time, and then he got tired of it and kind of flicked at her with his paw, so she stopped and was wary of him after that. The cat has six toes on each of his front feet! I never noticed it before. Joe says he is a hunter, and he catches mice in the night and gives them to Joe in the morning, haha!

After Kim had been incredibly patient for a long time, I asked if she could go downstairs and watch TV, so Joe took her downstairs and turned it on. It was captioned, of course, but he turned on the sound for her. He doesn't have cable, so he left it on a Western movie, but she wasn't really watching it. She was looking at his collection of lighthouse models and pictures. I borrowed a book from him for her to read about a family that lived on a lighthouse island in Maine earlier in this century. I thought it was a good book, very interesting, but I doubt that Kim will read it.

I didn't have to work last night, so I went to church today, and wouldn't you know it was Fast Sunday. It was actually mostly bearable, and I knitted through it. I took with me a vest that I'm knitting for David McD to take on his mission. I went to Sunday School, and there was hardly anyone there! I don't know where they all were, but there were only about 10 people in the class.

I went to Relief Society, and sat there holding the big fat Rosenwing baby, the cutest baby ever, until he started fussing, and then when RS was about to start I realized that it was still Fast Sunday and that there would be testimonies to listen to, so I left.

I went out in the hall and ran into Elder Knight, the friendly missionary, and he asked about you. I told him you were a little tired of the MTC and he said he was glad to be on an English-speaking mission so he wasn't there as long. I asked him if he had to answer phones like Jason did, and he said he did, in a happy way, as if it was fun!

Then I wandered around looking for the nursery because Dad is done teaching the Sunbeams now - there are a couple of nursery kids this year. It's moved, it's not the seminary room, it's at the other end of the church, I think. You know I get lost in the church because it all looks alike. It's next to the family history room. So I went in there and Dad only had one nursery kid this week, so I sat down and pulled out my phone and called Nancy N. to see why she wasn't at church. She said she had a bladder infection so she stayed home, and we proceeded to talk about our knitting until Dad said we only had five minutes left, and then I got off the phone and helped him clean up his toys.

Kim went to her first full day in YW today, and she looked very cute. She wore her black turtleneck and her black skirt, pantyhose and black flats, and her new string of pearls. She wore lipstick, too. She's growing up!

Yesterday I spent the whole day (after I woke up in the afternoon) working on the first of a pair of socks for Scott, only to discover that it's huge! So I'm going to rip it out today and redo it with less stitches. It's a cool flag sock. If it works out well, I'll make a pair for you, too. I have the first of your pair of Lopi socks half done, too. I started it at work this weekend.

So I talked to Jason on the phone on Friday night at work. He said he is moving into his apartment today. I hope it works out for him. He seems to think he will barely have enough money to live on, so I hope he gets enough to eat. We talked about ways to add an egg to your ramen soup, and I hope he does it. He sounds very determined to plow through as much school as he can before you get back. He was very sweet, talking about how wonderful you are and how he will never understand you because you are the most amazing person he knows and he has never met anyone like you. Blah blah woof woof. I told him that he never talks to me anymore because he is a sissy and he's afraid of me, and he said he IS a sissy, but he's not afraid of me. Well, he should be.

I'm making spaghetti carbonara, but this will be the last time I make it for a while, since apparently both Dad and Kim are tired of it. Those poops. It's easy to complain about the food, but I don't notice either of them in there making anything!

Later:

Dad went upstairs and worked out with his Bobfighter and then he took a shower and when he came downstairs, he started rubbing lotion into his hands, and you should have seen how excited the dog got! It was ridiculous! She was jumping all around and panting with excitement to lick his hands! What a freak.

So now they're watching the Simpsons and I'm just bored. I ripped out the flag socks and started over again, and I finished the last little bit of the first Lopi sock, but I'm tired of watching TV. I need something to get excited about.

January 7, 2002-

Speaking of something to get excited about, I was watching a show about the Olympic Women's 2 man bobsledding team, while I was waiting for a figure skating show to start, and I thought that Nancy M. would make such a great team member for Women's bobsledding! So I called Ruthann and told her about it, and she agreed, and I looked it up on the internet and found a website of a woman who is the same age as Nancy and wants to form a team for the 2006 Olympics in Italy, and I sent that to Ruthann, too. That woman is training in Lake Placid, New York, but that and Park City, Utah, have the only bobsled runs in the U.S. It was very interesting and I wish Nancy would do it!

I talked to Heather R. on AOL this morning and she has finished a scarf she was knitting and gave it to a friend, so I invited her over to look at hat patterns and yarn tomorrow so she can make two hats for her boyfriend and someone else. I hope she gets excited about it!

I am going out with Ruthann this afternoon to mail some packages and buy some posterboard for Kim's Zoetrope, which is a carousel animation thing she has to make for school. Rich will have to work on it with her because I have to work, and I'm glad of that!

So at church yesterday, people keep saying, how is Rachel doing? Well, the short answer, and what they want to hear, is fine. Ugh. It's just like when Scott was home at Christmas, he was dreading going to church because everyone would ask, How are things at the Y? I told him to just say fine, because it's what they expect to hear. If they want to know more, they'll ask something specific.

So do you need anything? How about your medication? I need to get some for you, I'm sure, and I'll do that later this week. I wish there wasn't a long wait time for an answer to a letter, so I could just ask a question and get an answer!

Love you boo.

3:10 p.m. - 2002-01-08
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter