monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kim is sick

3 March, 2002

Sunday

Dear Rachel,

Well we finally got some snow! It started getting colder on Wednesday, and then on Thursday there were a few flakes, but on Friday it started really coming down!

It snowed all night Friday, and I was a little worried that Dee wouldn�t be able to get to work, but she did, so I was relieved! Barb got off work at 11, but she has a long drive home so she slept at the hospital. It kept on snowing all day on Saturday, and into the night, but it had stopped by morning, and when we woke up, Mr. Coleman had already come and cleared our sidewalks. I might get dressed later and go out and clear the steps. So we have about 8 inches of snow and it looks beautiful, but it�s quite cold outside.

Saturday Rich went outside to clear the steps and bring in the extension cord from the outdoor lights (which are still on the bushes, by the way), and then we opened the blinds and did a little cleanup in the house and went grocery shopping (driving on the snowy roads), so when we brought back groceries and then settled down in the living room, it was so cozy.

I�m in the middle of 4 days in a row off from work and it�s wonderful! I have been working a lot since Justine has been off with her bad back, and I was getting pretty crabby and sick of it. So this is just great! I don�t have to go back to work until Tuesday afternoon.

Kim has a really bad cold, so she stayed home from school on Friday, and she is taking Advil for a bad sore throat and headache. Last night I gave her Tylenol PM because she said she woke up in the night before and couldn�t go back to sleep, so after the Tylenol PM she fell asleep on the couch and we covered her up and left her on the couch all night.

We stayed home from church today, and talked about when she was little, and I told her about how Scott used to get mad at her and tell me she was lying, she was always lying but I didn�t believe it, and how it was starting her on a life of crime and she would end up smuggling diamonds in her diapers, and we had a fun time laughing about stories like that.

I�ve been having her change into clean pajamas and brush her hair and teeth every day, because you know that makes you feel better when you�re sick, and today I brought down a basket of bath stuff and clean pajamas and a towel for her, and sent her into the downstairs bathroom to soak in a bubble bath. I brought down some bubble bath, bath crystals, scented body wash, and some after bath body spray, so the downstairs bathroom will be just as heavily scented after her bath as the upstairs usually is. I gave her a book to read in the tub, too.

She is reading All Creatures Great and Small, about the vet in Yorkshire in the late thirties. She is finding it interesting, but gross. It�s an AR book, one of the ones she has to read for points to get a grade. She hasn�t read enough of them, so she got a couple of big ones, because you get more points for those, and now she is working on it. I�ll read some out loud to her later, when she�s back on the couch.

So last night I got a call from Inger, and she was furious because she just talked to Uncle Roger on the phone and she was just as frustrated with him as I was the last time I had to talk to him, so that amused me. Sarah and Inger and I have been taking turns calling Mom and getting information to convince her that she needs to fly back from Arizona instead of driving, and it was Inger�s turn to call. Well finally Inger asked to talk to Marilyn instead, and she thinks that Marilyn was much more reasonable and was really LISTENING to what she said. Hmmm, I hope it makes a difference, but I�m starting to doubt that it will. Dad keeps saying, �Just let them drive back, it will save the rest of you a lot of trouble�, and you know, I am so sick of all of those crazy old people that I agree with him now, but Inger and Sarah won�t back down. They are right, she will be sick and exhausted and probably have to be hospitalized again when she gets home to Michigan, but since they are not only insane but stubborn, I think we should just let them have their crazy old way and do what they want and then suffer the consequences. It�s making me mad just thinking about it all.

Okay, here�s some news � Inger finally got a check from the sale of their house in Florida, and she is using the money to buy a condo for Jeanette to live in. The deal is that Jeanette will live there for at least 5 years, and then they�ll sell it and make a profit. I know Jeanette is thrilled, although she hasn�t called me!

Inger is going to help her advertise for a roommate, but she can pay the first couple of monthly payments herself, so they�ll have time to find someone. That�s going to be so nice for her, because the roommates she has now are complete pigs and she has to do all the cleaning, especially after their drunken friends come over for parties, and there have been some very nasty messes to clean up.

Dad went to church by himself today and he said that David McD and his Dad gave talks on missionary work. So apparently it was David�s farewell. I wish I had known. He is going to the MTC in just 10 days! Dad said he only had two of the three nursery kids today, and both of them pooped about 10 minutes before class ended, so that was not pleasant. He also said he was expecting Kim to show up after YW to help with the clean-up like she always does, but then he remembered that she was home sick.

When Kim gets out of the tub, she is going to write a letter to you. I brought her letter-writing equipment downstairs in the basket with her bath stuff. Dad is having a nap, so I�m going to encourage him to write when he wakes up. I need to go to the P.O. on Monday and buy some more 80 cent stamps.

Oh, Ruthann�s mother died this weekend. It was Friday night. She has been going downhill for a couple of weeks, and Ruthann�s sister and their aunt, who is their mother�s sister, have been there to visit. They are having a little service here on Tuesday (thankfully, I have to work), and then they will all go to Oklahoma for the burial.

I can�t wait to get a letter from you! It took 10 days for your last letter to get here, and I hope mine are reaching you sooner than that! I don�t want you to be down there with no mail. Has anyone else been writing? Bertha says she writes every week, and I�m not sure about Scott. I know he writes but he doesn�t get the letters mailed right away.

Scott is supposed to be getting his mission papers from the bishop when he sees him at church, but the bishop hasn�t been there for a couple of weeks. Oh well, he�ll get them eventually. I just want him to get all the interviews and whatnot done while he�s still out there because he needs to do it with his bishop and religion teachers out there.

Love you boosky----

Mumsy

12:27 p.m. - 2002-03-3
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter