monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Trippin'

Is it morning yet? I'm tired and I have about 45 minutes left until it's time to go home.

We left on Thursday morning to go to Edwardsville to get Rachel registered for school for the fall semester. She had an appointment for Thursday afternoon to meet with her counselor to plan her fall schedule, and was planning to meet her prospective roommates on Friday and go with them to look at an apartment.

I worked Wednesday night so when I got home in the morning everyone was up and packing, and I packed a few things and got my knitting bag. We had the audio tapes of the 5th Harry Potter book to listen to in the car, but I went to sleep, so I didn't hear any of it.

I have already read the book twice, but Rachel got frustrated with the characters and stopped reading and Kim has a lot of other reading to do, so she had stopped, too, but after hearing about 1/3 of the book on tapes in the car, Rachel started it again when she got home on Saturday and stayed up late reading it. She's not done yet. Kim is stilled slogging through Frankenstein for her summer reading list, so she doesn't have time to read anything else - after Frankenstein she still has 3 more books from her list to read.

Anyway, Rachel had the meeting with her counselor and it looks like she'll be able to graduate in the spring. Her counselor is new this year, so I hope he knows what he's doing. She sounded a little doubtful after she met with him, but she says they both think it's right. Well, okay then, as long as they both THINK he's right...

We were just going to hang around the motel and rest on Friday night but then Rachel's friend Marshall came to the door because she had left a message for him that she would be in town, and he took her to St. Louis to see some band that he really likes, called, and I hope I am remembering this right, Poi Dog Pondering. Yes, that's it. Rachel said afterward that she thought they were rotten but Marshall was having a great time and she didn't have the heart to complain.

She got back late and we went out to sit in the lobby and talk because Kim and Rich were sleeping. I don't sleep well in motels because compared to my waterbed they are like sleeping on a slab of cement, so I was awake when she came in.

Friday we took our time getting up and showering and eating breakfast in the room, and then we went shopping at Shnooks grocery store - I'm not sure that's how it's spelled, but that's how you say it - because I needed some Diet Pepsi and the pop machine in the motel only had coke. Shnooks used to carry Pateks curry paste and I was planning to buy some because I've been out of it for a while, but I was very disappointed when we couldn't find it!

Rachel's prospective roommates came over at 12:30 and we all went to lunch at a Chinese buffet and then we followed the girls out to look at the apartment. Ugh, what a dump! The manager didn't have a key because maintenance had been doing some work in there and hadn't come back with it yet, so we didn't get to see the place, but I pointed out to the girls that it looked like the projects, and they sort of agreed, but I think one of them, the one who had found the place, was a little disappointed because it was so nice and CHEAP! Well there's a reason for that, honey.

So we took Rachel back with us and bought a paper so we could look for apartments, but while we were looking, we realized that she can't sign a year lease because she'll be graduating in 9 months and she plans to leave town immediately to go to graduate school. So we finally went back to the college and put in an application for one of the campus apartments that she lived in before her mission. She's on the waiting list, but she'll probably get in, and if not, well, we'll find something. She will end up living with strangers, but that's okay. She hadn't met either of the girls she was going to live with in the ghetto, either.

After that we went to St. Louis and walked around a fun mall there, and stopped at the Hard Rock Cafe to buy a t-shirt for one of Rachel's friends.

Everyone was tired when we got back to the motel and I went to sleep at 9 (!) but I woke up at 12:30 and couldn't go back to sleep again the rest of the night. I just read my library book and knitted, and slept on the way home in the car on Saturday.

With all the knitting I got done on the trip, I'm almost done with the back of the Aquarius sweater!

6:17 a.m. - 2003-07-21
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter