monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yes, we have no tomatoes.

When I got home this morning I woke up Jeanette so she could pack to leave with Rich's parents, who were coming to pick her up at 8:30.

She packed quickly and then sat on the couch and played Super Mario for an hour and I just sat in a chair and didn't even knit, I don't think, but I can't remember because I was practically in a coma because I was tired from being up at work all night. It was fun to watch her play, though. I haven't seen anyone play that game in a while and I had forgotten how much fun it is to watch. If Kim ever has any free time again, I'm going to ask her to play it for me.

After they all left, I went up to bed, and cried a little, because this is how it is; your kids grow up and leave. Sniff.

When I woke up I called Ruthann and we went out to the library to pick up the books I ordered on interlibrary loan. One is The Devil Wears Prada and the other is Bob Fulton's Amazing Soda Pop Stretcher. When I was a kid I read Bob Fulton's Amazing Soda Pop Stretcher many times because I just liked it. Another favorite that I reread a lot was Once On a Time by A.A. Milne, a copy of which is sitting in Kim's room right now, but she doesn't have time to read it. My absolute favorite was Harriet the Spy, and I read it over and over and over and even tried to make a handwritten copy of it (because who knew you could BUY a book?). Ruthann said she loved that one, too.

We drove around doing little piddly errands, including a stop at Verna's to look for a knitting needle, but she didn't have the length I wanted, and we brainstormed about the Roadshow that I am supposed to be writing. Inger had given me a good idea, and Rachel suggested one, and Ruthann thought of a couple of good ones, but we didn't have anything solid to work on.

Then we remembered it was Shelley's birthday, so we bought her some brownies and a card and went to her house to deliver them. We had to wait for her to get home from work, but it was worth the wait, because we sat at the table and talked about the Roadshow and actually got it started! On the way back home in the car, I was looking at our notes and thinking that I had enough to start writing with, but that I didn't actually have the story in my head yet, and then Ruthann started telling me the story that was in her head, so since she had the story, I told her to go home and write it, and she has been working on it tonight! Yay! We don't have to produce it, we just have to write the script. (FYI, we're using Inger's idea.)

I worked on the 20-day Sweater last night at work and I'll do more today but I'm getting a little worried because it's coming down to the wire! I only have 10 days left! Can I do it? Well, I have some library books to get me through the boring part, and after that, who knows?

Kim's first cross country race is tomorrow!

11:53 p.m. - 2003-09-02
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter