monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Run, run like the wind!

So on Wednesday afternoon we went to Kim's first cross-country meet! It was at a park in Rockford, so we had to use a map Rich printed from the internet and we did find it, but we couldn't get in at the first entrance we came to so we had to drive around a little until we found the other entrance.

So we got into the park and it was full of buses from a zillion other schools in the area! Who knew? I thought it was just going to be our team and their team! I don't know anything about cross-country, so it was all new to me.

Rich ran cross-country in high school, so he figured out the course and ran around finding the good spots to stand and all, and I sat at a picnic table, knitting on my purse sock.

The whole thing was pretty dull, except when Kim's race went off and we hurried up the hill to see her come around the course. She smiled at us, and her coach yelled something encouraging, and then I yelled, "Use the downhill to accelerate!" because I had heard another coach tell someone that. I don't know if she took my *professional* advice or not, but she came in 55th in a field of 71, so we were proud of her, since we expected her to come in last.

Rich stayed home from work with a really bad cold that kept him up all night, and I had the night off but wasn't able to sleep because I am usually up all night at work, so I was still awake at 5:30 this morning and I drove Kim to seminary, in my nightgown with a sweater over it. She was starting to feel crummy, with the same symptoms Rich had, and by the time she got home from X-country practice after school, she was sick AND exhausted.

I made chicken soup with matzo balls for them, and gave Kim glasses of water to keep her hydrated. She fell asleep on the couch, and dozed all evening, and then went to bed at 10. She has another race tomorrow, but if she doesn't feel any better than she did tonight, she isn't going to it.

Ruthann gave me the roadshow script on Wednesday and we worked on it over a bowl of almond M&Ms and some Diet Pepsi, and it's pretty good. It's not GOOD good, but it's roadshow good. We're using a fake name on it so no one knows we wrote it. We put that it was by Angela Gabriel. Har. Har.

I have 7 days left to finish the freaking sweater and I'm almost done with the boring part. Then I get to start the stressful part, and hope it works better on the front than it did on the sleeve. That part is only about 15 rows and then I'll be on the labor-intensive-but-not-difficult part, the part for which I need to rent some movies to occupy me while I work on it. It's not something that I can do while reading!

12:37 a.m. - 2003-09-06
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter