monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This is pretty random.

I was going to go with Rich to watch Kim run this morning, but I was sleepy when I got home and decided to go to bed instead. So I slept until noon, when I woke up and was too hungry to go back to sleep.

There was some cold pizza in the fridge, but it was some nasty kind, and as I was eating a piece of it, Billy No-mates IM'd me. He was working at home, and was stuck on something and sick of working, and thinking of going out for lunch. So we went to Pizza Hut and had a P-zone.

Kim had called me at home right before I left to tell me what time the bus would be getting back from her meet, and after lunch we drove over to the school and picked her up. This time she was 98th in a field of 109. She said that toward the end she was pushing herself, and that she felt "gay" when two girls passed her, because she was really working, and they went flying by. That just cracked me up.

I spent the rest of the afternoon trying to go back to sleep. I read and knitted in bed for a while, and then I tried to sleep, but I couldn't, and I got tired of laying there thinking my thoughts, so when I heard Kim come upstairs I asked her to come and do what she calls meditation with me.

She was happy to do it, and came and sat on the bed with me. She has been doing this for me for a couple of years, and it's kind of funny, because I mean she was like 10 when she started it, but she had listened to me doing the same thing for her to relax her since she was little, and the first time she offered to do it for me, I thought it would be entertaining but wouldn't be effective, so I was surprised at how good she was. She talks slowly and quietly and tells me to take several deep breaths and relax my body and to empty my mind of emotions and then this time she talked about listening to rain outside, even though it wasn't raining. I went to sleep after that and she went back downstairs to work on her project for World History class.

The project she is working on is a model of the Ark of the Covenant made out of a shoebox. She's making a religious scroll out of oh, paper towel tubes and popsicle sticks and she's going to make brownies and cut them in the shape of the two stone tablets and I think she's planning to write the 10 Commandments on them in icing, but I don't think she will be able to fit all of that on a sheet of brownies.

I got a letter from Scott today with pictures! He's still wearing that gray fedora that he took with him! He said it's getting cold in Canada, so I got out a vest that I started for him last year, and I'm going to finish that to send to him.

So I got a few inches done on the front of the vest, and tonight I'm working on a beret for the craft show. And nursing my bruises from the fall at the Post Office yesterday. I wish I had another Diet Pepsi...

11:51 p.m. - 2003-09-20
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter