monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Getting all HIPAA on me!

I'm annoyed again tonight because I can't find out anything about a patient's condition by asking a damn nurse. We have so many regulations (HIPAA) to protect a patient's privacy, that even when it's your good friend and you work in the hospital where they are a patient, you can't find out a damn thing!

To make myself feel better, I'm going to share a very special, extremely amusing website with you. It's a site for posting pictures of ugly bridesmaid dresses, and there is an especially awful prom dress worn by a pregnant girl. She doesn't look happy to be wearing it, so I am wondering if it was her punishment for getting knocked up in high school. Go here and see dresses that are worse that what your friends made you wear to be in their weddings!

Remember last month when I was in Michigan and my father asked me to knit a sweater for his dog? When I got home, I called and left a message on his answering machine, asking for specific measurements of his dog so that I could make the sweater. A week or so later, having never heard from him, I called my brother and asked him to measure Dad's dog for me. Uh huh, never heard anything back from him. Finally, Diana helped me get some measurements, and I made a sweater and mailed it to him.

Well, of course I haven't heard from my father to tell me that he got the sweater or to thank me, and I don't expect to, because that's the kind of ass he is, but here's the funny thing - I got a LONG e-mail from my brother Ed today, who says that Inger mentioned that I want to make a brine-soaked turkey, and he wanted to share his recipe and techniques with me! He told me in extravagant detail what kind of bucket to soak it in, and exactly how to do every step of the procedure, including a long, complicated recipe for making gravy (from the brine that you soaked a raw turkey in overnight? Salmonella, party of one!).

So now I have an essay on cooking a turkey, and still no dog measurements. Thanks, Ed!

11:58 p.m. - 2003-11-29
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter