monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just like college.

This wasn't really much of a day, now that I think about it. I woke up at 1 in the afternoon, and left the house with Ruthann at about 1:15 to pick up Patti at the bus station in Rockford, where she was returning from spending a few days in Chicago with her brother.

We stopped at Baker's Square on the way home to get some lunch and I had the really good Cobb Salad. They have the best Cobb Salad I've ever eaten. Anywhere.

We went to Sam's Club while we were in Rockford, and I must say, they appear to have everything! There was a wonderful club chair and hassock that I really wanted, but I can't afford to buy furniture right now, so I just walked sadly away to look at DVDs. I didn't buy anything, which is not so much because I have amazing restraint, as because they don't accept credit cards, except for Discover. The only one I don't have. That's okay, it's not like I needed to spend money.

On the way home Patti blabbled on and on and on and I was very happy to get back to my own quiet house. She did tell me the answer to the burning question of what kind of monkey catapults into the polar bear pool in the Sierra Mist commercial - some kind of baboon, but I forgot the first name. Dionysius? Nah, I don't think that was it. Okay, I just did an extensive Google search and looked at several pages about Baboons without pictures and finally found a page with pictures and could see that it is a Hamadryus Baboon. Whew! Now I'll be able to sleep nights again.

I went back to bed when I got home and woke up after 8, so I really spent most of the day asleep.

I'm still working on the first of Kim's gloves and it looks very cool! I like the way the colors are coming out, and the way the yarn feels. It's merino, so soft. When the lab tech comes down here to pick up the lab reports tonight, I'm going to ask her to try the glove on. It fits me okay, but I made the fingers longer because Kim's fingers are longer than mine - well, okay, everyone's fingers are longer than my stubby little monkey paws.

FYI:

"To start his harem, a young Hamadryas male must steal a female from another band. He starts by walking between her and her mother, and when she begins to follow him, will keep her with him by using threats. "

Just thought you would like to know what complete shits the male Hamadryas baboons are. They were also the sacred baboons of the ancient Egyptians.

See, my journal isn't all knitting and bad language, you learned something, too.

11:51 p.m. - 2003-12-03
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter