monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I can't even think of a Van Halen song for this title.

So I talked to Diana tonight and we were talking about our mothers and how they always get things wrong and, with Grandma's help, blow them out of proportion, and that reminded me of something Aunt Diane told me last night, so I had fun sharing this with Diana:

A few years ago my mother started telling me about my cousin who played with David Lee Roth, and I just blew it off as being one of mom's exaggerated stories - like when she met a missionary serving in our ward who was from Brigham City, Utah, and he thought he remembered that he might possibly have maybe danced with my cousin Angel at a church dance, and then that story, over time, grew from him dancing with her at many church dances, to him having dated my cousin, and it wasn't a lie, in her mind, it was a fact.

So when she told me my cousin played in a band with David Lee Roth, well, first of all, I know my mother wouldn't know David Lee Roth from a Star of David, and secondly, knowing how she got things wrong and exaggerated things, I figured that she probably meant that my cousin bought his guitar picks at the same store as David Lee Roth, so I paid no attention to her. (Kid Rock being the father of Sarah's baby, however, is stone cold fact, right, Sarah?)

When I was talking to Aunt Diane, she was saying that her son Mitch, my brother Ed, and Matt Biznet were all born the same year, in succeeding months, like May, June, and July. I didn't know who Matt Biznet was, and she explained who his mother and grandmother were, and I recognized their names from typing up a big book of Larsen geneology that I inherited from my mother, but I couldn't remember seeing the name Biznet. However, there are many more pages of family history that I haven't typed into the geneology program yet, so I just thought I must not have gotten to that name yet.

Aunt Diane was a little surprised that I didn't recognize Matt's name, though, and she told me that he and his brother Gregg were pretty well known musicians who have played with David Lee Roth and some other famous people.

(Okay and when I got to this part of the story with Diana, I was telling her it was my cousin but I hadn't called him by name, so when I said that he and his brother were both musicians that had played with DLR, she said, "Van Halen?!!?!" which would have been the best possible punchline to the story, but no, I am not related to the brothers Van Halen.)

So I was still wondering who Gregg and Matt Biznet were when I came to work last night and I googled the names, but since I was spelling Biznet phonetically, the way I heard Aunt Diane say it, I didn't bring up anything helpful. Then I looked at a website for David Lee Roth, and found a Gregg Bissonette mentioned, and yeah, I remember typing that name!

So I googled Matt and Gregg Bissonette, and they have websites and yes, apparently they are quite talented musicians and rather well known. Except by me, but then as I told this story to Diana, she said, "Matt Bissonette?!?! Yeah!" and went on to tell me that when she went to a David Lee Roth concert, Dave was too drunk to actually sing, so Matt, the bass player, did the singing!

So it's alway something, either your cousin dances with a missionary in Utah who later serves his mission in your town in Michigan or your sister gets knocked up by Kid Rock by drinking from a dirty glass at the same bar he went to once in Royal Oak, or you find out you are not so distantly related to somebody kinda cool.

And the Van Halen brothers are not my cousins, but Diana's kids are calling their garage band Van Hathaway, which is almost as good. Kim can call her string quartet the Kim Folds Five.

11:06 p.m. - 2003-12-15
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter