monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Holiday pageant

It was the night of the Holiday Pageant at the high school, and I usually avoid it because it's so crowded, but since Kim is in the high school orchestra this year, we went.

The pageant draws a huge crowd from the community, not just the parents of the orchestra and choir kids, so they do two shows, both of them to full houses. We went to the second show at 4.

The show was fantastic! I've seen it before, when Rachel was in it, and it was good, but this year it was even better, and Ruthann told me on the phone later that it was the best one she's ever seen, and she goes every year. So I'm glad we went, even though I crawled out of bed at the last possible minute and my hair looked terrible.

After the show I went home and checked my phone messages and had one from Inger and one from my dad. What? A phone call from my father? Who died? So I called him and he said that his mother died, and we talked a little bit. He thanked me for the dog sweater, too, and said that it was a little long, so I'll have to make another one, and shorten it about 2 inches. That was the longest conversation I've had with him since I was 6.

Earlier this week I talked to Grandma Diehl, and she asked how Grandma Ruth is doing, so I had been thinking of calling Dad's sister, Diane, but I didn't have a number for her. While I had Dad on the phone he gave me Aunt Diane's phone number, so after I called Inger to tell her I'd heard the news, I called Aunt Diane.

That turned out to be so much fun - I had a great time talking to her and she filled me in on everyone on that side of my family, and I told her about all of us. Now I am planning a trip to Michigan next summer to visit, and I think we can turn it into a family reunion! Wouldn't that be cool?

So I'm back at work, and Crabby Appleton is coming in at 5 so she can teach me to do her job, and that will break up my night nicely.

I have some knitting with me, but I left the Gryffindor scarf at home - I'm tired of it. I brought a couple of catalogs, too, so I can order a winter coat - the one I've been wearing has looking pretty bad for the last couple of years and I keep saying I'm going to buy a new one, but either I can't find one that I like or I just put it off so long that there aren't any left, or something, but this is it! This is the year! The year of the coat!

11:36 p.m. - 2003-12-14
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter