monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which we do not see our neighbor's new cat.

That quiz I put up yesterday is courtesy of Sando, who was IMing me out of desperation as Kim is gone to camp and he must be a bit lonely. He tried to explain to me the concept of IMing in their role-playing characters, but I just don't get the attraction of chatting to your friends while pretending to be a magic-wielding fox or something similar. He did use a few Japanese words that he must have picked up from anime or maybe all that manga they read, and I thought that was charming. I don't know if I've mentioned this before, but there have been times when Catseh and Sando have been at our house and all of the kids are just sitting in the living room, reading manga. Catseh's mother reports that they do the same thing at her house.

So it's quiet at home without Kim, and I have slept well the last couple of days because Kim is gone and Rachel has been working. Today I had to get up by 1:30 for a meeting at work at 2 and I asked Barb this morning to call me, but she must have been busy (or forgot!) because she didn't call me until 1:50 so I had to roll out of bed and race to work.

The meeting was just a nightmare, because I was so tired and groggy that I just sat in my chair, hatin' on everyone. There are two people in my department who just sparkle with cheer and optimism and I was wishing they would both just shut up. Or vanish. (Oh to be a fox with magic powers!)

I was feeling bitter about my job by the time the meeting was over, because our little switchboard crew is so overlooked by the rest of the department. I complained later to Barb and Kathy that no one knows what we do or how good we are at it! When I got to work tonight, I found a note from Barb saying that she put my name up for recognition for the incident Sunday night in which I spent two hours on the phone with an employee who was trapped in the elevator, keeping her calm and monitoring the efforts to get the doors open! So I feel a bit better about things now, due in part to the massive amounts of Diet Pepsi I've sucked down tonight.

After the meeting I dragged back home and picked through my mail, checked my email, and looked to see who had updated their journals. When Rachel got home from work, we went to the store to shop, just to get things to make a couple of meals, then we came home and made dinner.

Rich was home this afternoon again, and had been out shopping for tile for the bathroom floor, but didn't find anything. He wants to go to a bigger store on Saturday, but I wish he would be satisfied with something he could get locally, because damn! I just want him to get the toilet fixed!

We all sat in the living room in front of the air-conditioner tonight and watched a movie that Andy loaned me. It was January Man, a detective story from the 80's, with some romantic comedy elements, starring Kevin Kline, and it has Alan Rickman in it, too, who is awfully attractive when he isn't Snape.

Afterward Rachel and I played a little Euchre and Rich did the dishes, and then we were startled by a knock at the door. It was Clark, a friend of Kim, who came over to ask us what time church services start on Sunday! He asked if there was anything during the week, because apparently he is searching for a church to attend (he's had a rough year and needs comfort, I think), and he wants to get right on it! I told him there is a youth meeting tomorrow night at 7, but that Kim won't be there as she is at camp for a few days, and he said that didn't matter, he would go anyway. We gave him a paperback Book of Mormon and one of those pass-along cards that has a number to call to get a book about having happier families, and pointed out the URL for the church website listed on it.

After he left, I called the missionaries and told them we need a couple more B of Ms, since the one we gave Clark has a few chapters missing out of the middle! I told him it was missing some, but if he starts at the beginning (not that I think he will read it, anyway), he won't notice it for a while. So the missionaries were pretty excited (when I told Scott, he said that they were probably pooping themselves with excitement), and offered to meet him at the church tomorrow night and give him a tour. Rachel called Sando to make sure there actually is something going on tomorrow because we thought maybe this late in the summer, there might not be, but Sando says the Young Men are going to be there, practicing giving the First Discussion. So that's fortuitous. I hope Clark actually goes over there.

Knitting news: Finished the pink varigated sock #1, starting Orange Opal sock #2. I'm about half done with the last piece of the blue Cotton Fleece cardigan for Rachel, and still working on the Gryffindor scarf when I have an idle moment.

Reading: I'm rereading HP6, just because I like it. Harry has gotten over his bad-tempered teenage crabbiness, things are going well for him at school now that everyone realizes that he wasn't lying about You-Know-Who being back, and he's doing well in his classes. Except for the unfortunate demise of a certain person at the end, he's having a pleasant year, and it's enjoyable. I like Professor Slughorn, too.


3:31 a.m. - 2005-08-03
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter