monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I am so happy with my new toilet!

It was a busy weekend at Chez Oozaroo, but I have an upstairs toilet again, and I couldn't be happier about that!

On Friday I picked Kim up from camp and she had a sore throat that she said she'd had all week! I tried to arrange a strep test for her, but no, the doctor wasn't in the office and the urgent care office was full. I have been giving her ibruprophen and waiting to see if she gets better this weekend, but she is still hoarse and coughing. She did say that her throat is not as sore as it was. I'm still going to call tomorrow to see if I can get her in to see the doctor - she needs a sports physical anyway, and he can look at her throat, too.

Also on Friday, Rich's parents arrived to help with the toilet situation! Yay! His dad brought tile for the bathroom floor, know-how for laying down the tile, and he brought an old set of his golf clubs for Rich! We are so the golfing family now!

So on Saturday they worked on the tile and shopped for a new toilet. Apparently our old toilet was judged by his dad to be no good and it should not be put back in place. They were gone a really long time, because there are many decisions to be made in the toilet-shopping process! Who knew? They came back with a mighty special vacumm-flushing toilet with a seat that doesn't clunk down, no, it lowers itself slowly and quietly. All I really care about is that I don't have to go downstairs to pee when I wake up! That toilet is really something, though.

We spent a lot of time eating and watching golf on TV this weekend, too, and Rich's dad showed everyone how to practice putting in the living room. Yeah, we're all about the golf.

Rich, Rachel and his dad went to the driving range and practiced golfing today, and I went along to watch. It was hot and sunny, and I sat on a bench with my knitting and got a lot of sun. I called Diana on my cell, and while we were talking, I watched a group of ducks waddle calmly across the driving range! Rachel told me later that when she and Kim had lessons in June, those ducks were just babies!

Kelly came by with the pretty baby this evening and Rich's mom was having a fit because the filthy dog was licking the baby's face with his tongue! Haha, she doesn't know how much spit that dog and the baby have swapped during the course of her little life! Good thing the baby didn't demonstrate how much she enjoys crawling into the fireplace and spreading ashes, but she did make some dog food soup while she was in the kitchen with Rich - he was doing dishes and not paying attention.

Then, whew! all the company left and we were alone in the quiet house. Kim was in the kitchen with her face in her laptop, and Rich went to work to do his billable hours, so Rachel and I went down to her room and moved some furniture and rugs around, then I took a nap on her bed until she woke me up with constant sneezing! I have had those same attacks, so I know how awful it is, and I gave her a Drixoral, so she'll sleep good tonight (and sneezelessly) and it should keep her sneeze-free through tomorrow.

Knitting news:

I'm halfway through Orange Opal Sock #2, cast on and knit about 2 inches on Spruce Kroy Sock #2 in church today, and finished Pink Varigated Kroy Sock #1 on Friday morning at work.

I'm about half done with the POA Gryffindor scarf in DK weight Encore, and planning at least one Ravenclaw Scarf in Encore Worsted Weight.

Kim's Slytherin scarf is coming along slowly, since she only works on it once a week, but she might work a little faster on it as we get into Fall. I think she'll want it to wear to the Goblet of Fire movie in November.

11:43 p.m. - 2005-08-07
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter