monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ouch.

Ow sweetie, ow dahling! My back hurts, my hips hurt, and I'm stiff! I've been sitting on the floor, leaning forward to peer at a design chart for hours and now I'm in pain! The pain was almost worth it, though, because I'm almost finished with the big, complicated, exhausting chart for the chest and back of the Nagano sweater. I enlarged it on a copier to make it big enough to see the squares, but that made it too big to prop on my lap! I should be done with it in another...day? Two days? Ugh, until the ibuprophen kicks in, I can't really think about it.

So today I watched two movies, because when you have to sit on the floor hunched over a chart on the coffee table for hours, you need entertainment! I watched the Food Network, re-runs of King of the Hill and Friends, and Rachel was there, too, watching TV and knitting a striped sock for a friend, so we got antsy and made a run to Blockbuster to have a crapfest rent some movies.

The first one we watched was a documentary called Mad Hot Ballroom and it was a movie about a physical education program in the NYC public schools in which kids in 4th or 5th grade learn ballroom dancing and compete against other schools. It was so much fun to watch! The kids were darling and I was crying over the ones who didn't win, just like I do when I watch the Olympics. (Thank goodness Rachel is living with us, because the Winter Olympics are heartbreaking; they work so hard! And when she was gone in Argentina I had to cry over them all by myself because Kim wouldn't watch them with me!)

The second movie was Bride and Prejudice, another version of P & P, this time taking place in India and England. Not the truest telling of the story, but it was a typical Bollywood-type movie, with big production numbers and while I do hate musicals, this was made bearable by how beautiful they were to look at. The male leads were so freaking gorgeous it took your breath away, too, so that made it even better. The women were lovely, too. It was just a pretty movie. Scriptwise, not so much. We rented two others, so I've got stuff to watch tomorrow, too.

I'm just going to lean back in my chair and do some work now while I wait for the painkiller to start killing some pain!

11:56 p.m. - 2006-01-10
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter