monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which there is cooking and company.

Ow sweetie, ow dahling! My head is pounding! I'm at work and it's 4:30 in the morning. I had a busy day, but managed to get some sleep, too. I didn't have time to squeeze in any knitting, though.

I woke up at 1 and called RA to see if she needed to do errands. Of course she did! So we got lunch, went to the Post Office, and went grocery shopping for my dinner.

Remember the missionaries wanted me to invite my neighbors over to talk with them? My nice neighbors wanted to talk with the missionaries about the Book of Mormon, so I invited them to dinner and to meet the sister missionaries.

I was planning to make spaghetti, and then I remembered that one of the sisters is a vegetarian, so I decided to make some baked macaroni and cheese, too. The neighbors were bringing salad and garlic bread, so I bought a cheesecake for dessert - a big one, with slices of different flavors; caramel, chocolate, plain, and strawberry swirl!

Rachel was supposed to be driving back from Minnesota, and I knew I couldn't expect her before 8 p.m., at the earliest, so she wouldn't be home for dinner. Then Rich remembered the Pinewood Derby was the same night! So it was down to Kim and me, but then Kim got a call from a friend and left! So, just me, and also, no harp music after dinner!

Well, there was plenty of food for the two Sisters, the neighbors, and me! We had a lovely meal, a very nice discussion, and after they left, I went to bed to sleep a little before work.

I hadn't heard from Rachel all day, and she usually lets me know when she is on the road home from a trip, so I was a little worried that something was holding her up. I tried to call in the early afternoon, and again later, but her phone was off. In fact, she had two cell phones with her, and both of them were turned off! I got more worried as the day went on, because it's a 7-hour drive to get home, and I thought she had class in the morning, so I didn't want her to get back too late.

She finally called during dinner! She had gotten a late start, but she said that she doesn't have class until 2 in the afternoon on Thursday, so she would be able to sleep in. She got home at 2 in the morning!

Knitting news:

Finished the first of a pair of gloves for Rachel, just a few minutes ago, and have already cast on for glove #2. They're lovely. I just hope I have enough yarn. It might be close!

When Kim got home from her friend's house, she was standing in the hall talking to me as she took off her outdoor clothes, and I saw that she was wearing a handknitted fair isle hat (the "Rachel Hat"), the Alien Scarf, a Ribby Cardi in wheat-colored wool, and green wool mittens, all made by me! I bet she had on handknitted socks, too!

4:31 a.m. - 2006-01-26
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter