monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Ladies Books and Knitting Society

So last night was the first meeting of what I am calling the Ladies Books and Knitting Society. That's not an official name, it's just a name I made up when I started an MSN email group so that we can email each other with comments and questions between meetings. I thought it sounded old-fashioned and funny.

The book club idea was started by Rachel and her friend Kathryn, and the first meeting last night was attended by Kathryn, her mom, Heidi, Rachel and me. RA was out of town, but she wants to be part of it, too, and we want to invite a couple of other people.

The knitting part happened at the end, because Heidi is one of my most enthusiastic knitting apprentices and she wants to make socks. We talked about what she would need to make a pair of Two-Strand Woolease Socks, and then Kathryn's mom said she wanted to make some, too. So the knitting is not so much a part of the book club, but sort of a sideline - we can look at projects and provide help, and then knit while we talk about the books.

We picked the first 6 books, and will read one a month. Everyone brought 3 books that they thought we should read, and we chose 6 from those. The first one to read is The Wind in the Willows. Since we decided to make the meetings on the first Thursday of every month, and we want to meet next Thursday, we thought this would be a fast read.

Kathryn brought her little black Scotty puppy to the meeting because I love him, and Buffy was very interested in following him around and licking his head but the puppy got tired of it fast. Then the puppy sat on Rich's lap and barked at Buffy, who wasn't happy about the little smartass intruder sitting on her dad's lap, so Rich took Buffy up to his office where they listened to happy Enya music and probably did some work from home.

I went to bed early, and then, like I do every night when I'm not working, I woke up and couldn't go back to sleep, so I'm going to knit and read. I'm making a pair of gloves for Rachel out of some dark eggplant-colored sport-weight wool. I hope I have enough of this yarn to finish the gloves! It was originally a kit to make a pair of mittens, and mittens take less yarn than gloves.

Oh, one more thing; started a Knit-A-Long (KAL) with Diana today. She wanted to make a hat for baby Audrey, so we chose the Miss Dashwood hat from Knitty.com, and I'll make one for the pretty pretty baby.

3:15 a.m. - 2006-01-27
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter