monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I deny that I sit around in my underwear, even though it might be true.

Since Dennis updated, indicating that the devil is wearing ice skates now, I am inspired to write something, too. His journal entry includes pictures of a hella cute baby, but since I am at work I will not be including pictures of Kim, the one we still call The Baby at our house.

Darn, I just realized, I should have taken a picture of her today in her Asian outfit. It's Spirit Week, and even though we are the only family in town with no school spirit at all, she is dressing each day as directed by those who care. Do you know what I'm talking about? Spirit Week is the week building up to Homecoming, in which each day has a designated theme and the students, the ones who care, dress accordingly. Today was Occupations Day, and I tried to get Kim to dress like a superhero, but she wanted to wear a silk dress and pants that I think are from Thailand, but I can't remember and the neighbor who gave them to us has moved away so I can't ask. So Kim said she was going to be a Geisha, and she practiced putting on white face makeup (I had to go to the store on Sunday night to find it for her) but finally decided it was too much effort, so she was going to skip the makeup and just wear the outfit and carry a Japanese fan, but then RA couldn't find her Japanese fan, and I couldn't find my Chinese fan or the Spanish one (ooh, I just remembered where that one is), so she didn't carry a fan, and her outfit didn't look like a Geisha at all, so she was really just wearing an interesting outfit and some extra eyeliner and uncomfortable sandals. She looked very cute, though. She told people she was a geisha and tried to explain that a geisha is a hostess, not a whore, but of course it is much funnier to be an expensive Japanese prostitute, so there was some joking about that.

Tomorrow is Formal Day, so Kim is planning to wear a long burgundy velvet cowl-neck dress that she wears when she has a harp gig. She said she's going to wear her black Docs with the dress, though, because those sandals were killing her today!

She had an orthodontist appointment, and it was right after school, so she was wearing her "geisha" outfit, but I met her there at the office and walked in with her and no one even gave it a second glance, so go fig. She was having an oral hygeine check, and now that she has learned to brush her teeth properly, she is ready to get braces! We've had three of these toothbrushing appointments now, and I am pretty tired of spending an hour waiting in the office while she brushes and flosses.

I was going somewhere with this... oh yeah, we walked into the office and oh my goodness, there was such a specimen of young manhood standing at the desk, and I said to Kim, "Meanwhile..." which is code for her to look at someone cute and she barely glanced at him, so when we sat down and I murmered, "Do you know him?" she said, "Know who? Oh, I didn't get a look at him." So I asked the receptionist after he left what school he went to, since Kim didn't seem to recognize him, and she told me not only what school he goes to but also his name, so I wonder if they aren't aware of the laws of confidentiality that we have drilled into us where I work! When Kim heard his name she said she did know him but she said it in a disparaging way, and I asked what was wrong with him and she just said, "Questionable Content." Well, that means anything that Kim disapproves of (drugs, sex, smoking, country music, etc), and she never said anything specific, so who knows, but wow, what a cutie.

You will be impressed to hear that I took not one walk today, but two. I went out with my Ipod and walked a mile or so by myself, and then later a friend called and wanted to walk so we walked the two-mile route. I am feeling pretty noble now! I walked by myself yesterday, too, and it's not too bad when I have my Ipod for entertainment.

When I got home from my second walk, Rich was in the kitchen finishing the dishes, and Kim was in the living room watching something on TV, wearing a white sports bra and pink yoga pants. I asked what she was doing and she said nothing, just watching Lord of the Rings in her sports bra, why? and then she giggled in a silly way she has when she is watching Elijah W@@d. I pointed out that she was in her underwear and that her dad was right there in the kitchen, and he said that we all sit around the house in our underwear so much that he wouldn't have even noticed if I hadn't mentioned it. That is such a lie.

12:00 a.m. - 2006-09-19
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter