monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

When the going gets rough, shop with somebody tough

How I was assertive today:

One of the security guards here is an idiot who wears too much cologne every day, and is always making dumb jokes that I don't laugh at. He tries to explain the jokes to me, because evidently he can't believe that the reason I'm not laughing is that he's not funny, and finally he figured that out. Lately he's been coming in to my office to sign the Security Clipboard and greeting me with, "Howdy Miss Audrey!" I hate that, but I haven't said anything about it, so as not to seem like a bitch, but early this morning when he came in, he said, "Howdy Miss A!" and without looking up from my computer solitaire game (it was a busy night), I said, "I'm sorry, but I can't allow you to call me that." He stopped in the middle of signing the Clipboard, and asked, "Why?" and I said, "It's stupid," and he said, "It's stupid?" I answered, "Yes, it's stupid," and he went away. When he came through later he asked a respectful question about the volume of calls I was receiving, to which I gave a civil answer, and I hope all is well now. What a maroon.

What I'm knitting today:

I forgot my workbag at home, so I'm working on some emergency sock knitting that I keep in the drawer at work. It's handspun, hand-dyed, lavender wool that is a little stiff, but I think the yarn going to soften up and "bloom" when I wash them.

What's in my wallet:

Kim's new school picture, and it's darling! I always buy the smallest picture package offered because I usually hate the pictures (I send them my beautiful children, and they send me back terrible pictures!) but these are so cute! I hope her senior pictures turn out this good, but I wouldn't mind seeing this one in the yearbook, that's how cute it is! I just realized that she's wearing the same outfit in the casual shots we had taken at the studio!

What I bought today:

I went with RA to return the horseshoe nail we stole borrowed for her seminary lesson, and I did a little shopping in the farm supply store! I bought an enormous bag of dog food for Buffy, a bag of cat litter, not my usual brand for multiple cat lifestyles, but the only brand they carry at that store, and then I saw a goodlooking table with shelves that is going to go in my room to replace the, ahem, Retro chrome and glass table without the glass top that now houses the TV. (If that sounds like a piece of crap, well, it is.) Right now the new TV Bench (as it calls itself) is still in a box leaning against the wall in the front hall, because Some Assembly is Required and Rich was playing golf when I brought it home. If I don't assemble it myself, I expect it will sit there until about Christmas!

BTW, Rachel said that the cat on that bag of cat litter is scary looking, but I informed her that I do not buy litter based on the attractiveness of the animal on the bag. Actually I didn't even look at it, I just bought CAT LITTER!

11:51 p.m. - 2006-09-26
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter