monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dr. Who?

We spent hours in the car over the duration of Christmas week, and I am so glad to be home and back at work, instead of in the process of planning another trip to the airport!

Scott and Carolyn were supposed to fly here on Thursday, with a layover in Denver, arriving in at the Rockford airport at 10 p.m., and I had been thinking I was so very clever to have them flying into Rockford, but that didn't work out, thanks to the massive snowfall in Denver. I got them on another flight, though, but it meant picking them up in the middle of Chicago and getting home at 4 a.m. after driving for 8 hours, so there was the beginnning of all the driving.

Rachel has been watching some shows from Netflix called Dr. Who, and she was dying to make a Dr. Who scarf! She was scheduled to work on Friday afternoon, so after she drove to the airport on Thursday night, she went back to her place to sleep and then came to our house for the weekend. She had the pattern for the Dr. Who scarf with her, and we went looking through the Yarn Room to find the yarn colors she needed. Then she sat on the couch and knitted nonstop until she went to bed. She didn't want to stop knitting to sleep!

We left Tuesday morning to drive to Michigan, and that is a 6.5 hour trip. It was pleasant, though, as we had audiobooks to listen to, and we were looking forward to seeing Grandma and Grandpa. Rich couldn't go because of the Big Project at work, so Rachel drove the van and I knitted and changed the tapes of the audiobooks, an awesome responsibility. S & C slept most of the way, and I think Kim was napping part of the time, too.

We got to Grandma and Grandpa's house Tuesday evening, and went to the family Christmas party that night. On Wednesday morning Rachel and I got dressed and went out shopping, in search of more yarn for her scarf! We went to a nice little yarn shop first, and I was going to buy some Opal sock yarn there, but it was 20 dollars a skein, so I put it gently back on the shelf, and bought some on eBay later that night. We didn't find what Rachel needed there, either, so we went on to a couple of other stores, and managed to get all but one color. We went out to lunch at Joes Crab Shack, Kim's favorite place, and later in the evening Jeanette, Sarah, and Chris came over to visit and we had our usual profanity-laden Girls Game of Euchre.

Thursday we drove home, and Rachel drove for the first three hours, but then she was tired of driving, and wanted to knit on her scarf, so I took over the driving. Of course, I took over just as we got to the area with the highest concentration of traffic, including big trucks! I drove for the next couple of hours, and when we got through Indiana, I wanted to avoid tollroads, so Rachel chose a route that went through towns, instead, and I complained about that for a while, until we got back on the highway, where I went back to complaining about trucks. I'm just never happy, am I?

We made a stop at Rachel's apartment in Dekalb so she could pick up her mail, and it was a good time for a dinner break, so we picked up some take-out Tacos and ate them at her place. She drove the rest of the way back home, but she was thinking longingly of sleeping in her own bed, since she'd been sleeping on couches and sleeper sofas all week, and was pretty sick of it.

Back at our house that night, we started planning the trip back to Chicago in the morning to get S & C on a plane to see her family in Texas, and Rachel was whimpering pitifully about driving again, so I called RA and she said she'd drive the car to airport in the morning! Yay!

So we got up early and said goodbye to Rich and Rachel (Kim stayed in bed!) and I drove to RA's to pick her up. Rachel went back to bed. S & C slept on the way to the airport, and we got them there in plenty of time for their flight.

After that, since we were out and all, RA and I decided to do some shopping. We stopped at S@m's Club, Ugly Hobby Lobby, and Old N@vy, and shopped the sales! Is this not happiness?

When we got back to town, Rachel and Kim were awake, and Rachel was doing some laundry and getting ready to go back to her own apartment. That was yesterday, and today she has made another trip, this time to St. Louis, to visit some friends there. So she's doing a little more driving.

Things that broke this week:

1. My iPod froze up on the trip home, which didn't make me happy. I don't know what caused it, but after I let the battery die, and recharged it, then it worked just fine.

2. The Low Tire light keeps coming on in the car for no apparent reason. We kept checking the tires, and adjusted the air twice on the trip to Michigan, and the light keeps coming on. We've had a problem with it before, and now I'm ignoring it.

3. My cell phone screens suddenly went blank yesterday, resulting in a near-meltdown for me, because my phone! It's broken! A few years ago I didn't even have one, and now I can't leave the house for a walk around the block with the dog without my cell phone! My phone still takes calls, and I can dial using voice commands, but it's annoying not to be able to see the screens, or to use it to tell time! I ordered a new battery online today, and I hope that solves the problem.

*****

Someone drove to my house! Inger arrived this morning while I was sleeping, and she is staying until Monday. She's an easy guest to entertain - all I do is cook for her, and she sits in a chair with her laptop computer, and reads Harry Potter fanfiction while I knit or play Animal Crossing.


12:17 a.m. - 2006-12-31
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter