monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Another year.

First finished knitting project of the new year:

Scarf for Sarah! I started it right before Christmas, and finished it tonight. It's made of the Malabrigo yarn in an Autumn colorway, and I used a pattern from a knitting journal called Yarn-A-Go-Go. It's five feet long, with seed stitch at the edges and a braided cable down the middle.

I'm going to cast on for a pair of socks tonight. I looked through a box of sock yarn tonight, and it's a good thing I bought some sock yarn on eBay recently, because I don't have as much as I thought I did! You really can't have too much sock yarn. I found two balls of dark green Silja yarn and I'm going to cast on for the first sock when I'm done writing.

I started a baby sweater tonight while I was watching Futurama before I came to work, so I'll not only have the socks to work on, but also the baby Wallaby. I'm using lavender Encore for that one.

Other than that, the only WIP I have is the Ariann sweater I started for Rachel a couple of months ago, and there's not much of that to finish, I just need to work on it!

Oops, I just remembered the Telemark sweater that I didn't finish. No problem, I can finish that in no time! One sleeve, that's all it needs!

I usually try to list all of the things I made during the year at the end of the year, but I didn't keep a list. I made a lot of things, take my word for it.

I made at least 5 black London beanies with skulls on the them, and one of them that said SWAT on the front for a friend who asked me for one to wear under his SWAT helmet. I made another hat for the same guy, so he wouldn't have to wear his SWAT hat to shovel the sidewalks!

There were three scarves in the month of December, and there was a pink baby sweater from an Elizabeth Zimmerman pattern that I wanted to try. I think I made that in October.

I made at least one shawl this year, because it's still in the yarn room, waiting to be blocked. So many pairs of socks that I can't remember all of them, but several of them were made from patterns in the Vintage Sock Knitting book that Sarah gave me for Christmas last year.

Oh, and there was the unfortunate felting fiasco that was going to be a bag for Rachel's laptop. I think that could be fixed with a little machine sewing, and I meant to give it to Inger to see if she could be creative with it, since she needs a bag for her own laptop. I forgot to show it to her when she was visiting, but I'll talk to her about it later, and maybe mail the bag to her so she can look at it.

I just looked back at the beginning of 2006, and in my first entry I made some amusing resolutions, one of them being to finish the Dale Nagano sweater! Did I mention that after years of guilt about not finishing that sweater, I finally unravelled it? Hah! You can read last year's resolutions here.

4:14 a.m. - 2007-01-02
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter