monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Did I mention the headache?

Could anyone in my family be more stressed? Rich is sick of his job, Rachel is sick of men, Kim is tired of her friends and all their drama, and I just have a headache behind my eye! Oh, and Scott has a sinus infection, but I can't do anything about that, either.

So I am just knitting and knitting, and hoping that everything turns out okay in the end.

The vest I was working on is almost done. I finished the body tonight and tomorrow I'll pick up stitches around the neck and the armholes to do the ribbing, and it will be finished.

I cast on with some handpainted wool (from the Sock of the Month club, but it's too nice to use for socks) to make a pair of gloves, and I worked on the cuff ribbing while Kim played Animal Crossing on the DS. I knitted and watched over her shoulder while she played.

Since I didn't want to bring the vest to work tonight, I threw a couple of other projects into my work bag. One of them is the scarf for Rachel on big needles with the handpainted Manos. I love the colors, and the thick-and-thin texture of the yarn, but I don't like working with the big needles. The big needles make the project go fast, though, so it's not my favorite knitting, but it's a short process.

The other thing I brought was the Noro yarn to make the armwarmers from Stitch N Bitch Nation, but I don't think I have the pattern in my bag. I started working on them at home, and then got frustrated because there were mistakes in the chart. I found the errata page on the internet, so I can finish them now. Love the Noro, must have more!

With both of those projects in my bag, I am instead working on some emergency sock knitting I left in a drawer at work, because I just want to do something mindless and soothing. I pulled that out to work on while Kathy, the afternoon operator was still here, and she asked what pattern I was using to make them, because she is inspired by the book she is reading, and she wants to make socks.

The book is something by Debbie MacComber, with Yarn in the title but I can't remember it right now. (I have a headache!) Kathy showed me the sock pattern in the book - a basic sock pattern by Nancy Bush, and it is almost the same as the pattern in my head that I am using for the emergency knitting socks, so I told her it would easy for her to make a pair. She's going to buy some sock yarn at Verna's and start some socks now. (She already knows how to knit, it's not new to her, in case you were worried that socks might be too hard for a beginner!)

Then Kathy told me that the book also mentioned Warm Up America, and said she would like to get involved with that! Perfect, because that is Kim's new YW project, to recruit people to make squares for an afghan and donate the finished product to the homeless shelter! I gave her a list of yarn colors that Kim is using for the afghan and she's going to get right on that, too. I love Kathy!

What I'm reading tonight: Still reading Draco's Delicate Condition, and then I have a couple of recommendations from Dennis to look at.

Tomorrow is my day off, and Rachel is coming to our house, so I'll have to think about cooking something for dinner, and we have movies from Netflix to watch. All I really want to do is sleep, since I didn't get much today and I'm tired. Maybe that's why I have a headache?

12:07 a.m. - 2007-01-11
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter