monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I still have a headache but I'm getting better!

The good news is that I am feeling a lot better. The bad news is that I am starting to not sleep at night, which is normal for me, but a bit trying for Rich. Usually I am awake and at work, where the lights don't bother him, but when I have a few days off and can't sleep at night, and it is too cold in the rest of the house, then he has to put up with me reading in bed, and then he has to sleep facing the other direction so the light isn't shining in his eyes.

Last night I was knitting the last few rows of the Ariann sweater for Rachel, and squinting as I tried to read a mystery book, because with the hideous shingles that broke out painfully on my forehead and over my eye, and ON MY EYEBALL, I am having a bit of blurry vision in my left eye. That should be clearing up any day now, I hope.

Did you get the important part of the preceding paragraph? Not the blurry vision, because that is minor, and anyway, I have audiobooks and can knit without sight, no, the part where I was knitting the last few rows of the sweater? Yes! I finished the body of the sweater! All that is left to do is to pick up stitches along the top neck and knit the collar! That is the third project I will have finished since I got sick!

The Ariann sweater looked like a fun and easy project with minimal finishing, all things I like, but the problem is that the instructions were a bit fuzzy in some spots (at least to me, and I am a very experienced knitter), so at one point I realized that I had been doing something wrong for a while and had to rip back many inches and restart, but then I started to have doubts about the finished product, and that stalled the whole thing for a while. I picked it up this week and just kept working through the doubt, remembering that I often think a thing is going to look like crap by the time it's done, and telling myself not to think about that. So I am hoping that when the magic of blocking and finishing is worked it will be beautiful. The buttonholes, well, they don't look so good, but I'm not going to think about them. The last one I did looks good, but the others? I don't know. No, no, don't think about them!

I have one more thing I would like to finish - the Telemark sweater, and I'm actually looking forward to making the last sleeve! One sleeve! - and then all of my big stuff that has been languishing in baskets will be done! I can start new big projects, some of which I have been planning in my head already, and I have a resolution for this year - to knit from my stash! I have so much yarn in the yarn room, and I need to use some of it, instead of spending money on more yarn. Soooo, all the sock yarns I bought in December and January are all the yarns I plan to buy for a while.

Even though the yarn store in Dekalb is having a sale the day before the Super Bowl, I don't need anything, so I will not plan to be there with my checkbook out. Unless I can get a couple of balls of Noro Kureyon, because I would like to make more legwarmers for Carolyn and I just discovered Noro and it comes in great colors! No, that way lies madness!

8:52 a.m. - 2007-01-19
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter