monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which my dog gets a bath.

I had made an appt for the dog to get a bath and I was feeling pretty good, so with my trusty companion Ruth Ann, we loaded up the dog and drove out into the wilds of Northern Illinois to find a tiny town called German Valley where the new groomer we are trying, lives.

We had nice clear directions, so we got there okay, with RA driving my van because she likes to drive and I don't, and also, I've been sick! The groomer's place is a training center for dogs, where they do classes and also grooming, and they have a wonderful shop stuffed with anything you can imagine for your dog, and some things for cats. When they met Buffy, I said she was matted, so it was okay if they had to shave her, but the groomer asked if I wanted to keep the long coat, and I said I would like to because it's winter, but I know sometimes she has to be shaved. The groomer just made a few notes, said it would take hours, and they'd call me when they were done. The groomer is the wife, and the husband runs the dog training part, they are about our age and the husband, especially, was VERY friendly.

Rachel had made me promise that I would only go out on this one outing today, and then go home to bed, but since we were already out, RA and I stopped at a mexican restaurant and had lunch. It was really noisy there and crowded, but the food was good. By the time lunch was over, I was so tired, so we were going home, but first we stopped at Joann Fabrics to take a quick look for knitting needles I needed, but they didn't have them so we stopped at Verna's Yarn Shop, and she didn't have them either. By the time I got home, I was exhausted!

So I went to bed, but I didn't go to sleep because I was knitting a mitten for Rachel and reading a mystery book - Stealing with Style - that was really good! I stayed in bed all afternoon, though, knitting and reading. When Rich got home he asked where the dog was, and I said still at the groomers, so we called to see when she might be done, and the husband answered and asked his wife and she said she'd be done about 6:30 or 6:45! We left her there at 11!

Of course, with me guiding us, we got lost on the way out there, because I have no sense of direction, but I thought I knew how to get there. I didn't drive on the way out there in the morning, so I wasn't really paying attention. It was DARK out there in the country and I was scared a deer would run out in front of us! So we drove around, with Rich getting cranky about it, because he was used to me getting us lost a few years ago, so he would check directions and bring a map, but he hasn't needed to in a long time, so he'd forgotten how it makes him mad, haha! Finally the groomer called my cell phone to see if we were on our way and I told him what road we were near and he told us how to get there.

The dog! She is beautiful! The whole crew of four people worked on brushing her, and she didn't need to be shaved! She is WHITE and FLUFFY like a cotton ball! Her feet are trimmed so they are all white and dainty, really, she is cuter than anything! I took some pictures :

Before:
After:


We got home fairly quickly with just a little arguing over which road to take and the dog slept all the way. She was exhausted from being groomed for HOURS! When we got home, she ran to her bowl and drank water for, I'm not kidding, TEN MINUTES! She drank like a camel! It was pretty funny.

Kim was at a friend's house when we got home, but when she came in, she was stunned by the beauty of the dog! Tomorrow RA is coming over in the morning so she can see our dog, too! Then Rich and I are going to go visit Rachel in Dekalb and hang out with her, and Kim is staying home to babysit the dog and to do something with friends.

9:07 a.m. - 2007-01-20
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter