monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

One little Kitten, she lost her mitten.

Another cold, cold day in the frigid Midwest. Kim's car hasn't been starting since about last Thursday, so she is driving Rich's car to school, and he drives the van to work. It's not a problem for me, since I'm sleeping all day anyway, so I don't need a car. Or if I do, RA is always around and we do our errands together, and go out to lunch, and she always drives because she doesn't mind.

RA is visiting her crazy sister in Arizona this week, but it's so cold I don't want to go out, so it's still not a problem. Kim was home in time to drive me to my doctor appt this afternoon, where he looked at my eye and said the inflammation is gone and to continue using the eye drops and come back in a month! Yay! I've been seeing him every week for 4 weeks, and now I don't have to go back for a month!

Yesterday I put gas in the van on the coldest day of the year, and today we were in the Saturn, which was low on gas, so Kim and I stopped and put gas in that car on the second coldest day of the year! Tomorrow Rich is staying home from work to take care of getting Kim's car started, and to do some snow shoveling, and I bet that when he starts Kim's car, we'll have to go put gas in that one, too. I kind of remember her mentioning it last week, that she was low. Oh boy, please let me pump gas every day in zero-degree weather.

So when we got into the Saturn, Kim's temporary car, I noticed that the backseat was full of popcorn on one side, and had snow all over the seat on the other. (Also some cups from fast food places - Rich always complains that the kids crap up his car when they drive it, haha) She said the popcorn got spilled after the movie on Saturday, and the snow was because she went around the car this morning, opening each door and shutting it again to knock the snow off. I asked why she didn't just brush the snow off with her mittened hand, and she said she doesn't have mittens, just some of those one-size-fits-all 69 cent gloves and her hands are cold. I don't want to go into how many unmatched mittens are in the hall closet, but apparently she doesn't have any that match, so I am knitting a pair of mittens for her tonight.

I would rather be knitting on something fun tonight, like the Kimono sweater, or starting the Gjende sleeve, but no, I have to make some boring mittens. Size 5 needles, of course, and lavender Encore yarn, because that's the first thing I picked up to make a fast pair of mittens. I could make cuter mittens, but they take longer. Maybe I'll do a cute pair next, and make those my purse knitting instead of a sock. Wait, why bother? She's just going to lose one of them immediately, anyway.

2:12 a.m. - 2007-02-07
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter