monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I feel a little better every day.

Since I got sick last month, I have hardly left the house, in fact, I've hardly left my bed. I go to work and come home exhausted, sleep all morning, get up for a couple of hours and maybe do a load of laundry, check my email, and rarely, go out to lunch, and then I go back to bed. I sleep more, read and knit, and that's all I've been doing for almost a whole month! It's been dull but I don't even care because I've been sick!

I'm getting better now - I can tell that I feel better and can do more before I get too tired. Today was so cold that school was called off, and Kim stayed home and napped in bed with me all morning, and then when I woke up, she was getting dressed to go get some lunch with Sando. When she got back, I took her to the grocery store with me, and did some shopping! It's not that exciting, but I haven't had the energy to do real grocery shopping for weeks!

Before we went to the store, Kim needed to stop and get something fixed on her braces - something was bent or out of whack - and I dropped her off and then went to the gas station, because my car was on fumes! Rich and Kim drove to Rockford yesterday for her symphony rehearsal and didn't put gas in my car! How rude!

So it was like -5 degrees, and I had to pump gas in the cold! I stopped the pump when it got to 40 dollars, because I was freezing! It wasn't full, but it was close enough!

When I went back to pick up Kim, she was in the parking lot, sitting in the car with Heidi, who was waiting for her son to get his braces adjusted, or whatever they do with them on the monthly visit. I told Kim we were going to go to the closest store, not the big one that we usually go to, just because I was already getting tired, and I thought it would be less tiring to go to a smaller store. It was okay, we made it through the store and back home, where she told me not to go wandering off like a baby duck, but to help carry the groceries in!

I put the groceries away while Kim wandered off, baby ducklike, into the den to chat with Sando online. There is big drama going on among her friends, first with Catsy getting mad because Sando asked Britta months in advance, to go to prom with him, and they all just got over that, and then this weekend, Britta told Kim that Sando says she didn't make a good impression on his parents (probably because she was wearing the Big Pants), so she was a bit miffed about that, but now Britta is planning to get her lip pierced, and Sando says if she does that he probably won't be able to take her to prom. Gasp! I'm sure when Catsy heard that news she lit up like a Christmas tree, because she had been hoping to go to prom with Sando herself...

Oh, but at the same time, there was a subplot of Rasheed and Catsy getting back together, and Kim was right in the middle of all that because Rasheed has been crying on her shoulder for a few months now about his sorrows since they broke up, and so she was involved in the getting back together, too. On Friday the three of them played DDR at Catsy's house, and then on Saturday all three of them went to a movie together, and at some point Kim walked in on the two of them making out, and so that's all lovely, but...

Now Sando is mad at Catsy for getting back together with Rasheed after she said a lot of mean things about him when they broke up, and Catsy was asking Kim how Sando heard about it, but Kim says she didn't tell him, that it was Britta who told him after Catsy told her, and oh my goodness, Kim is pretty sick of all the drama, and finally tonight she turned off her IMing messenger because she just didn't want to talk to any of them.

So that is entertaining the heck out of me, and if anyone should ask, I would be happy to tell them that I told Sando's mother about it as soon as I heard, because she also likes to get the scoop, but she has a boy, so he doesn't always tell her what's going on.

I've been knitting and reading Georgette Heyer books from Rachel's stash this weekend. I re-read Cotillion, and Friday's Child, and then I read a couple of chapters of Masquerade but it was a bit dull and so was the Black Moth. Today I started reading Bath Tangle, and it's good, so I've got something to read in bed while I knit on the Kimono sweater for Carolyn.

The Kimono sweater is a pattern that I got from the yarn store in DeKalb, and it's a fast knit with some interesting details. I'm using Paton's Decor for it, in a dark burgundy color.

I'm going to knit up the Gjende sweater that I bought the yarn for in about 2001, so I brought the pattern to work last night to enlarge the charts, and I was planning to start a sleeve tonight, but I brought everything I needed, except the pattern. So I'm working on a sock, instead.

I have quite a few things planned to make, and I wrote a list of them all in a notebook, and made some notes on yarn for them, too. I recently realized that I have a lot of yarn (!), and I'm going to make an effort to knit from my yarn collection this year, instead of buying yarn for everything I want to make!

2:52 a.m. - 2007-02-06
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter